Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


House Committee Assignments Announced

By Brandon Moseley
Alabama Political Reporter

Alabama Speaker of the House Mike Hubbard (R) from Auburn announced the 2013 committee assignments in a written statement released on Tuesday. Several members of the 2010 legislative class were appointed as Chairmen and Vice Chairmen.

Speaker Hubbard said, “I am proud to announce the 2013 committee assignments. I am confident that this group of legislators will help lead our fight to protect the rights and values that Alabamians hold dear. I am particularly proud of our freshman members appointed to leadership positions: Rep. Lynn Greer (Chairman of Transportation, Utilities and Infrastructure), Rep. Allen Farley (Vice Chairman of Public Safety and Homeland Security), Rep. Barry Moore (Vice Chairman of the Commerce and Small Business) and Rep. Bill Roberts (Vice Chairman of the Committee on Boards, Agencies and Commissions). I look forward to working with them in this session, and for many more to come.”

Speaker Hubbard said, “Rep. Farley has already shown tremendous leadership among his peers in his short time in the House.  Combined with a 36-year career in law enforcement, Allen is the perfect choice for this position.”  Rep. Farley is a former Assistant Jefferson County Sheriff and graduate of the FBI National Academy.

Speaker Hubbard appointed veteran Representative Lynn Greer (R) from Rogersville) to the Chairmanship of the Transportation, Utilities and Infrastructure committee.  Speaker Hubbard said,  “This committee is invaluable in its work to address issues critical to Alabama. Whether it be working with the Department of Transportation to build or repair roads or making other key infrastructure decisions that are vital to our economic development, Rep. Greer is a highly respected member and I have no doubt that he will be up to the challenge of the tough choices this committee requires.  Chairman Greer leads by example and will be a strong advocate for the conservative policies, principles and reforms that our Caucus supports.”  Rep. Mac McCutcheon (R) from Huntsville was the Chairman of the Transportation, Utilities and Infrastructure committee, but McCutcheon was recently appointed as House Rules Committee Chairman.  Rep. Blaine Galliher (R) from Rainbow City was previously rules committee chairman, but vacated his seat to accept a job as legislative director for Gov. Robert Bentley (R).

Hubbard announced that Representative Barry Moore (R) from Enterprise will be the Vice Chairman of the Commerce and Small Business Committee.  Speaker Hubbard said, “Representative Moore’s experience as a small business owner gives him the perspective and know-how needed to serve in this leadership role on the Commerce Committee.”

Hubbard also announced that Representative Bill Roberts (R) from Jasper has been named the Vice Chairman of the Committee on Boards, Agencies and Commissions.  Speaker Hubbard said, “Rep. Roberts is a true public servant, and his diverse service in both the private and public sectors makes him an obvious choice for this position.”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

House Speaker Mike Hubbard said of the appointments, “The backgrounds, the talents, and the conservative ideologies of each of these individuals has made them uniquely qualified to fill these posts, and I look forward to working with them in this session, and for many more to come.”

The 2013 Legislative Session is set to begin on February 4, 2013. This will be the third year that the Alabama Republican Party has held the majority in the Alabama legislature.

Brandon Moseley is a former reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter.

More from APR


Almost 750,000 people in Alabama receive SNAP benefits and could be affected by the proposed cuts.


The committee amended the bill to ensure there is no right to contraception after implantation of the embryo.


The bill appropriates more than $786 million for Alabama priorities, $232 million of which was secured by Britt.


Moore was buoyed by regions newly integrated into the 1st Congressional District during court-mandated redistricting.