Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Remembering Those Who “Like Mike” and Wanted To Protect Him

By Bill Britt
Alabama Political Reporter

MONTGOMERY—Fifteen members of the State House of Representatives, one Senator and a US Congressman attended the pep rally for Mike Hubbard the day after he was indicted on 23 felony counts of public corruption.

In February of this year, 37 House members signed a letter to US Attorney General Loretta Lynch, asking her to investigation State’s Attorney General Luther Strange. There were ten accusations against General Strange of “misconduct…incompetence or willful neglect of office.”

The call for a Federal investigation of Strange and Deputy Attorney General Matt Hart, were primarily based on an affidavit by attorney and radio show host, Baron Coleman. Coleman’s assertion was later disproved in court. The letter to Lynch also referenced a statement by Yellowhammer News blogger, Cliff Sims. Without attribution, the letter cites the unnamed Sims as a “respected political commentator,” saying, “the AG’s office has turned into a quasi-Secret Police force.” Sims is closely associated with Hubbard and his compatriots, Dax Swatek, Tim Howe, and John Ross, who were named in the Hubbard indictments.

Hubbard has now been found guilty of 12 of those 23 charges. House Republicans and Democrats bent over backwards to keep Hubbard from ever facing a jury of his peers. Now, some of these same individuals are seeking the Speaker’s Office or to keep their coveted committee Chairs.

Several Representatives, who are working to clean up the lower chamber stained by Hubbard’s actions, have said that anyone on either list should be barred from any leadership role in the future.

For those who have forgotten the lawmakers who cheered for Hubbard after the State charged him, their names are listed below:

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Rep. Ed Henry
Rep. Jack Williams
Rep. Alan Harper
Rep. Matt Fridy
Rep. Alan Baker
Rep. Paul Beckman
Rep. Mike Ball
Rep. David Sessions
Rep. April Weaver
Rep. Jim Patterson
Rep. Kerry Rich
Rep. Mac McCutcheon
Rep. Mack Butler
Rep. Alan Farley
US Representative Mike Rogers

The above individuals took the stage with Hubbard, Sen. Del Marsh and former ALGOP Executive Director John Ross (in the audience).

Congressman Mike Rogers, during the pep rally, accused the State’s sitting Republican Attorney General, Luther Strange, of practicing “Chicago-Style gutter politics.”

Rogers received a hefty campaign contribution from former Gov. Bob Riley just two weeks after he spoke at the rally. On November 3, 2014, Riley contributed $2,600—the maximum allowed by federal law—to Rogers’ campaign.

Rogers recently told the Montgomery Advertiser that he didn’t regret any of his statements during the pep rally.

The signers to the letter to the Obama Administration are listed below:

Jack Williams (signed twice)
Barry Moore
Alan Baker
Howard Sanderford
Victor Gaston
Lynn Greer
Mike Hill
Paul W. Lee
Ken Johnson
Terri Collins
April Weaver
Ed Henry
Oliver Robinson
Juandalynn Givan
Jim Patterson
Becky Nordgren
John Knight
Alan Harper
David Sessions
K.L. Brown
Randy Wood
Mark Tuggle
Donnie Chesteen
Reed Ingram
Chris Sells
Paul Beckman
Dimitri Polizos
Mack Butler
Chris Pringle
Rod Scott
Pebbin Warren
Elaine Beech
Anthony Daniels
Thad McClammy
Ralph Howard
Phillip Pettus
Kerry Rich

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

So, the question remains: Do they still “Like Mike,” and want to protect him?


Written By

Bill Britt is editor-in-chief at the Alabama Political Reporter and host of The Voice of Alabama Politics. You can email him at [email protected] or follow him on Twitter.



The Alabama Forestry Association announced last week that it has endorsed Steve Marshall for a second full term.

Featured Opinion

"In reality, Brooks is everything Trump loathes; he is a loser, and attacks on Katie Britt won't change that fact."


The governor will host a ceremonial bill signing for a number of pieces of legislation passed during the 2021 Legislative Session.


Steve Marshall will be joined by supporters for a noon announcement on the steps of the Attorney General’s Office.