Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Sewell selected to New Democrat Coalition Leadership Team

By Brandon Moseley
Alabama Political Reporter

Wednesday, December 7, 2016, US Representative Terri Sewell (D-Selma) was selected as Vice-Chair of Outreach for the New Democrat Coalition in the House of Representatives.

Congresswoman Sewell said in a statement on social media, “Proud to be a part of the New Democrat Coalition Leadership Team for the 115th Congress along with Jim Himes, Rep. Ron Kind, Congresswoman Suzan DelBene, Derek Kilmer, Congressman Jared Polis, Congressman Gerry Connolly, Rep. Kathleen Rice, and Congressman Scott Peters. I look forward to working with this exceptional group to advance our pro-growth agenda so all Americans can get ahead in today’s economy.”

Rep. Sewell said, “America continues to benefit from the leadership of the New Democrat Coalition and the Democratic values of opportunity, fairness, and responsibility. I look forward to the work that lies ahead as I promote the needs of all Americans before the Coalition and advance the pro-growth and forward looking agenda of the New Democrat Coalition to all Americans.”

Rep. Sewell said, “As Vice-Chair of Outreach, I plan to continue to engage with all stakeholders, constituency groups, and fellow Members of Congress to promote policies and legislative initiatives which encourage job creation, promote innovation, and provide workers with the necessary tools to compete and thrive in today’s economy.”

On Wednesday the New Democrat Coalition announced its expanded leadership team and the specific roles of the four Vice-Chairs. Collectively, the four Vice-Chairs will facilitate Coalition communications, policy work, member services, and outreach. The New Democrat Coalition said in a statement that this structure harnesses the unique talent each Member brings to the Coalition and will further the execution of the Coalition’s vision. Additionally, Chair-Elect Himes (CT-04) announced three Members to serve in leadership positions within the Coalition: Rep. Gerry Connolly as Whip, Rep. Kathleen Rice as At-Large Member, and Rep. Scott Peters as another member of the leadership team.

Congressman Derek Kilmer (D-Washington) said, “It’s time we had an economy and Congress that works for everyone. For too many folks, a rapidly changing economic landscape has created uncertainty about the future. I’m honored to be a part of the New Democrat Coalition leadership team and look forward to making progress on ideas to give people hope that good paying jobs, quality education, and a secure retirement will remain within reach.”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Congressman Gerry Connolly (D-Virginia) said, “With the election of Donald Trump, the New Democrat Coalition is more important than ever before. We will be the front line in winning back disaffected working men and women while building the innovative economy of the future where millions of jobs and rich opportunity await. I look forward to continuing to be a part of the leadership team advocating this important agenda.”

Congresswoman Kathleen Rice (D-New York) said, “I believe the New Dems have an important role to play in the future of our party and our caucus, and I’m excited to work with our members to advance real solutions that will help rebuild a strong American middle class and to craft a message that will help Democrats win a majority in the House.”

The New Democrat Coalition for the 115th Congress will be chaired by Rep. Jim Himes (D-Connecticut). The New Democrat Coalition’s leadership team will take office in the 115th Congress.

The New Democrat Coalition was founded in 1997 and describes itself as a key group of Democratic legislators dedicated to maintaining America’s status as the world’s strongest, most successful nation. The New Democrat Coalition says that it believes in ideas over ideology. They describe themselves as a solutions-oriented, pragmatic coalition that is future focused group of Democratic lawmakers committed to finding commonsense solutions that Americans need.

The New Democrat Coalition has 52 members and comprises about one quarter of the House Democratic Caucus. The House has been under Republican control since the 2010 election.

Congresswoman Terri Sewell represents the Seventh Congressional District. She was recently elected to her fourth term in the US House of Representative and is the only Democrat in the Alabama Congressional Delegation.


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Brandon Moseley is a former reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter.

More from APR


The FAA Reauthorization Act passed the House today by an overwhelmingly bipartisan vote.


The bill would expand bond financing opportunities for local governments and nonprofits.


Last week marked two years since the Mexican government illegally invaded and shut down Vulcan’s Punta Venado deep-water port.


The event is free and open to the public. Constituents are welcome and encouraged to attend.