Connect with us


Alabama Retail Association makes endorsements

Brandon Moseley



The Alabama Retail Association and its political action committee, Alabama Retail PAC, released its endorsements of candidates for the primary elections to be held on June 5, 2018. Unlike some endorsement lists by other groups, all of these candidates face primary opposition.

“The Alabama Retail Association believes these candidates understand the issues retailers face and that, if elected, these individuals will give retailers’ interests a fair hearing,” said Alabama Retail Chairman Jacob Shevin. “The Retail Association closely evaluates each candidate’s record and discusses the ramifications of each race before granting its endorsement.”

“We are confident these candidates are the best choices for these positions,” said Alabama Retail President Rick Brown.

For Governor: Retail PAC endorses Governor Kay Ivey (R).
For Lieutenant Governor: Retail PAC endorses Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh (R). Cavanaugh is currently the Public Service Commission President.
For Attorney General: Retail PAC endorses Steve Marshall (R). Marshall was appointed by then Governor Robert Bentley (R) last year.
For Secretary of State: Retail PAC endorses incumbent John Merrill (R).
For State Treasurer: Retail PAC endorses John McMillan (R). McMillan is currently the Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries.

For the Alabama Senate, RetailPAC endorses:
District 2: Tom Butler, R-Madison.
District 4: Garlan Grudger, R-Cullman.
District 6: Incumbent Dr. Larry Stutts, R-Tuscumbia.
District 8: Incumbent Steve Livingston, R-Scottsboro.
District 10: Mack Butler, R-Rainbow City.
District 12: Incumbent Senate Pro Tem Del Marsh, R-Anniston.
District 13: Randy Price, R-Opelika.
District 21: Incumbent Gerald Allen, R-Tuscaloosa.
District 25: Ronda Walker, R-Montgomery.
District 26: John Knight, D-Montgomery.
District 33: Incumbent Vivian Davis Figures, D-Mobile.
District 34: Jack Williams, R-Wilmer.

For the Alabama House of Representatives, Retail PAC endorses:
District 4: Parker Duncan Moore, R-Decatur.
District 9: Scott Stadthagen, R-Hartselle.
District 10: Incumbent Mike Ball, R-Madison.
District 12: Incumbent Corey Harbison, R-Cullman.
District 14: Incumbent Tim Wadsworth, R-Arley.
District 16: Incumbent Kyle South, R-Fayette.
District 19: Incumbent Laura Hall, D-Huntsville.
District 22: Incumbent Ritchie Whorton, R-Owens Cross Roads.
District 27: Wes Kitchens, R-Arab.
District 30: Robert McKay, R-Ashville.
District 32: Incumbent Barbara Boyd, D-Anniston.
District 33: Incumbent Ron Johnson, R-Sylacauga.
District 39: Ginny Shaver, R-Leesburg.
District 42: Incumbent James “Jimmy” Martin, R-Clanton.
District 45  Incumbent Dickie Drake, R-Leeds.
District 48: Incumbent Jim Carns, R-Birmingham.
District 49: Incumbent April Weaver, R-Alabaster.
District 55: Incumbent Roderick “Rod” Hampton Scott, D-Fairfield.
District 56: Incumbent Louise “Lulu” Alexander, D-Bessemer.
District 58: Incumbent Rolanda Hollis, D-Birmingham.
District 60: Incumbent Juandalynn Givan, D-Birmingham.
District 64: Incumbent Harry Shiver, R-Bay Minette.
District 65: Incumbent Elaine Beech, D-Chatom.
District 67: Incumbent Prince Chestnut, D-Selma.
District 69: Incumbent Kelvin Jamichael Lawrence, D-Hayneville.
District 73: Incumbent Matt Fridy, R-Montevallo.
District 76: Incumbent Thad McClammy, D-Montgomery.
District 82: Incumbent Pebblin Warren, D-Tuskegee.
District 85: Incumbent Dexter Grimsley, D-Newville.
District 97: Incumbent Adline Clarke, D-Mobile.
District 102: Willie Gray, R-Citronelle.
District 105: Chip Brown, R-Mobile.

For the Alabama Supreme Court, Retail PAC endorses:


Supreme Court Chief Justice: Lyn Stuart (R)
Place 1 Associate Supreme Court Justice: Brad Mendheim (R)
Place 4 Associate Supreme Court Justice: Jay Mitchell (R)


For the Alabama Court of Civil Appeals, Retail PAC endorses:

Place 1 Court of Civil Appeals Judge: Christy Olinger Edwards (R)
Place 2 Court of Civil Appeals Judge: Terri Willingham Thomas (R)

For the Alabama Criminal Court of Appeals, RetailPAC endorses:

Place 1 Court of Criminal Appeals Judge: Richard Minor (R)
Place 2 Court of Criminal Appeals Judge: Chris McCool (R)
Place 3 Court of Criminal Appeals Judge: Bill Cole (R)

The Alabama Retail Association was formed in 1943, for retailers by retailers who saw a need for representation when public policy was made. Today, Alabama Retail represents 4,200 members with some 6,000 locations statewide, ranging from small, family-owned retail stores to large national chains.




The V Podcast