Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Alabama Republicans enjoy a big night with easy wins


It was a big night for Republicans across the state.

Not only did the GOP hold onto every statewide office, but its candidates did so in commanding fashion. The closest of the races was for Alabama Chief Justice, between Republican Tom Parker and Democrat Bob Vance, and it wasn’t that close. Parker won with 58 percent of the vote.

Gov. Kay Ivey, Attorney General Steve Marshall, Lt. Gov.-elect Will Ainsworth, State Auditor Jim Zeigler and Secretary of State John Merrill all hauled in better than 60 percent of the vote in their races.

Down the ballot, there was just as much Democratic carnage.

Despite a national uptick in momentum that led to the Democrats retaking the U.S. House of Representatives and turning several state houses to Democratic control, Democrats in Alabama failed to win a single Republican-held seat.

The only real chance for them came in Senate District 6, where state Rep. Johnny Mack Morrow challenged Republican incumbent Sen. Larry Stutts. Morrow led for most of the evening, but Stutts pulled ahead late and won by fewer than 1,000 votes.

In Congressional races, it was somehow worse for Democrats.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Martha Roby, Robert Aderholt, Mike Rogers, Gary Palmer, Mo Brooks and Bradley Byrne all won and claimed at least 62 percent of the vote. Aderholt got 80 percent.

Republicans also held their seats on the Alabama Public Service Commission and Isaac Whorton won the 5th Judicial Circuit judgeship.

It was a clean sweep.


Josh Moon is an investigative reporter and featured columnist at the Alabama Political Reporter with years of political reporting experience in Alabama. You can email him at [email protected] or follow him on Twitter.

More from APR


Governor Kay Ivey awarded $3.9 million toward 12 projects across the state through funding created by the Rebuild Alabama Act

Featured Opinion

The new Republican platform tells every American what to expect from a second Trump term: four more years of government-by-tweet.


Alabama ranks in the top 5 states for manufacturing job concentration.


J. Scott Brewer receives judgeship after 16 years as an assistant district attorney in Talladega County courtrooms.