Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Major party qualifying in Alabama House District 42 begins


The Alabama Republican Party announced that qualifying will open for the special election in Alabama House District 42 at 8:30 a.m. CST. Qualifying will close on Tuesday, June 18, 2019, at 5:00 p.m. CST.

The special primary election for House District 42 will be held on Tuesday, August 20, 2019, with a special primary run-off being held on Tuesday, November 5, 2019, should one candidate not receive a majority of the votes.

On Monday, Alabama Governor Kay Ivey (R) announced the special election dates for District 42 in the Alabama House of Representatives.

HD42 became vacant when State Representative Jimmy Martin (R-Clanton) lost his battle with lung cancer on May 31.

The major party primaries, if necessary, will be set for Tuesday, August 20, 2019. If necessary, the major party primary runoff(s) will be held on Tuesday, November 5, 2019. The special general election would then be Tuesday, January 21, 2020. If there is no need, based on number of qualifying candidates for a primary, the general election will be held Tuesday, November 5, 2019. If no runoff is necessary, then the general election will be Tuesday, November 5, 2019.

“With a special election set for House District 42, the people of Autauga and Chilton counties can know that they will have a voice in the Alabama Legislature,” Governor Ivey said. “We were all sad to see Jimmy lose his battle to cancer, but we can ensure his hard work is carried on in the years to come. The people of Autauga and Chilton counties have the opportunity to help carry on his legacy by participating in this special election.”

The governor has set the deadline for qualifying with both major political parties at Tuesday, June 18, 2019 at 5:00 p.m.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The deadline for all independent candidates and/or minor parties to submit all of their paperwork, including all of the required ballot access petition signatures, is Tuesday, August 20, 2019 at 5:00 p.m.

House District 42 represents Autauga and Chilton counties.

Written By

Brandon Moseley is a former reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter.



Leah Garner, who is the governor’s current communications director, accepted an opportunity in the private sector.


“I am proud to have Will lead Team Ivey.


Misinformation on COVID-19 is resulting in a public health crisis and filling Alabama’s hospital beds with the unvaccinated.


The $1.2 billion prison construction and renovation plan will be debated on the House floor on Wednesday.