Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Young Republicans elect new leaders

The Young Republican Federation of Alabama elected new officers at their convention in Auburn on Saturday.

Dalton Dismukes was elected as the new chairman of the YRFA.

“It was a true honor to have been elected chairman of the Young Republican Federation of Alabama today,” Dismukes said. “I am thankful for the trust my fellow young republicans have placed in me. I look forward to building clubs around our great state and giving Doug Jones the fight of his life.”

“Thank you to Jackie Curtiss, our immediate past chairman for her service to our federation the past four years,” Dismukes added. “I have big shoes to fill and look forward to continuing the great work she has accomplished.”

The newly elected YRFA officers include:

Chairman: Dalton Dismukes

Senior Vice-Chairman: Matt Hood

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

National Committeeman: Zach Bowman

National CommitteeWoman: Megan-Rhea Lewis

Secretary: Isaiah Pyrtiz

Treasurer: Caleb Parker

CD1 Chair: Jack Burns

CD2 Chair: Nick Hines

CD3 Chair: Mike Foxhall

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

CD4 Chair: Bryant James

CD6 Chair: Jonathan Hester

CD7 Chair: Mason Dyess

The YRFA released a statement on social media following the convention.

“Today, Young Republicans traveled from around the state to Auburn for our Biennial Convention,” the YRFA wrote. “We hosted both Coach Tommy Tuberville and Rep. Matt Fridy as speakers. We also created our new platform which we will share with you in the coming days. Thank you to everyone who attended today.”

“I was honored to have the opportunity to speak to the Young Republican Federation of Alabama at their convention today,” Fridy wrote on social media afterwards. “Although I have aged out of their ranks, I have so many fond memories of YR events and campaign work over the years, and so many friendships within this group of patriots.”

Fridy is a 2020 candidate for the Alabama Court of Civil Appeals. Currently, he represents Shelby County in the Alabama House of Representatives.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Tuberville coached the Auburn football team from 1999 to 2008. Tuberville has also been the head football coach at Ole Miss, Cincinnati and Texas Tech with a 159 and 99 career record. Tuberville is fourth in total number of football wins at Auburn with 85. He is presently a candidate for the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate.

Tuberville is running in a crowded field that also includes Roy Moore, Bradley Byrne, Arnold Mooney and Stanley Adair. John Merrill is expected to make a decision on whether or not to get into the race this week. Jim Zeigler has formed a Senate exploratory committee. There are media reports that Gary Palmer is also considering it. Sen. Richard Shelby, R-Alabama, has asked former Sen. Jeff Sessions to seek the seat.

Brandon Moseley is a former reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter.

More from APR


241 bills were introduced during the first week of the 2024 Legislative Session. 


The State Government Affairs Committee approved the bill, sponsored by Sen. Garlan Gudger, R-Cullman.


The new officers' terms in office began on Jan. 1.


News of Saban's retirement elicited reactions from many Alabamians including lawmakers and other public figures.