Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Alabama rewards House Republicans with another term

Voters handed the GOP victories in every Alabama congressional district in which they ran a candidate.

A flag flies outside the U.S. Capitol Building. (STOCK PHOTO)

Alabama voters reaffirmed their unwavering support for the Republican Party and gave the GOP victories in every Alabama congressional district in which they ran a candidate.

  • In the open 1st Congressional District, Mobile County Commissioner Jerry Carl defeated Democratic nominee James Averhart 64.6 percent to 35.4 percent.
  • In the open 2nd Congressional District, former State Rep. Barry Moore defeated Democratic nominee Phyllis Harvey-Hall 65.4 percent to 34.6 percent.
  • In Alabama’s 3rd Congressional District, longtime incumbent Congressman Mike Rogers, R-Alabama, bested Democratic challenger Adia Winfrey 67.6 percent to 32.4 percent.
  • In Alabama’s 4th Congressional District, twelve-term incumbent Robert Aderholt, R-Alabama, defeated Democratic challenger Rick Neighbors 83.1 percent to 16.9 percent.

Democrats did not run challengers against popular incumbents Mo Brooks in Alabama’s 5th Congressional District or against Gary Palmer in Alabama’s 6th Congressional District.

“I am very proud of the massive work our county parties, state members, elected officials, an army of volunteers and our voters produced as we once again made Alabama history,” Alabama Republican Party Chair Terry Lathan said in a statement.

“We are excited that Alabama will be sending a strong Republican Congressional delegation back to Washington, DC. Our four incumbent Congressmen — Mike Rogers, Robert Aderholt, Mo Brooks and Gary Palmer — will be joined by two new conservative Republican additions: Congressmen-elect Jerry Carl and Barry Moore,” Lathan said. “Additionally, we congratulate Public Service Commission President Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh for winning her statewide re-election race.”

The Alabama Republican Party has controlled six of Alabama’s seven congressional districts since 2010. Since 2010, the only congressional district that Alabama Democrats hold is the 7th Congressional District, represented since 2011 by Congresswoman Terri Sewell, D-Alabama. Sewell did not face a Republican challenger.

Most political observers understood that 2020 would be a challenging year for Alabama Democrats given President Donald Trump’s enormous popularity in the state. Republicans also took back the Senate seat, electing former Auburn University coach Tommy Tuberville over Democratic incumbent Sen. Doug Jones.

With Tuberville’s election, Republicans control every statewide elected office in Alabama.

Trump carried the state 63.5 percent to Joe Biden’s 35.4 percent.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Written By

Brandon Moseley is a senior reporter with over nine years at Alabama Political Reporter. During that time he has written 8,794 articles for APR. You can email him at [email protected] or follow him on Facebook. Brandon is a native of Moody, Alabama, a graduate of Auburn University, and a seventh generation Alabamian.



Marshall called CRT proponents misguided and urged the administration to back off on promoting the controversial theory.


His comments come after the speaker's refusal to seat all five Republican nominees for the Select Committee on January 6.


The FTC’s authority to sue was diminished in a Supreme Court decision earlier this year.


Anyone in uniform who is unmasked is currently required to provide proof of having received a vaccination.