Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Secretary of state honors staff for service to the state of Alabama

Staff who completed five, 15, 20 and 25 years of service were honored.


Secretary of State John Merrill on Thursday honored staff who completed five, 15, 20 and 25 years of service to the state of Alabama.

“These public servants wake up every single day with the intent of helping the people of Alabama, and I am grateful to have such a competent and qualified team,” Merrill said. “These staff members work diligently to assist the public with a servant and helper’s heart. Their efforts ensure the Office of the Secretary of State operates efficiently and effectively, making the best use of taxpayer dollars.”

The awardees were as follows:

25-year recipients:

  • Renae Barron
  • Melissa Giddens

20-year recipients:

  • Lovetta Churchill
  • Tamara Cofield
  • Beth Jensen
  • Bernard McCaster
  • Edward Packard

15-year recipients:

  • Shemekwa Farrow
  • Tamara Moore
  • Elaine Swearengin
  • Karie Wilkerson

5-year recipients:

  • David Brewer
  • Taylor Freeman
  • Brittany Hamilton

Each staff member was awarded with a pin and celebratory certificate thanking them for their numerous years of faithful service.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The Alabama Political Reporter is a daily political news site devoted to Alabama politics. We provide accurate, reliable coverage of policy, elections and government.

More from APR


I hope our elected leaders in Washington will stand with Alabama’s business owners and our hard-working employees.


A net 22 percent of owners plan to raise compensation in the next three months.


The sponsor said her intent was not to criminalize youth but to offer some protection to employees of juvenile detention facilities.


Chairman of the Perry County Commission Albert Turner Jr. has been indicted of felony and misdemeanor counts of voter fraud.