Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Alabama District Attorneys Association elects new president

In 2013, Jackson was awarded Alabama District Attorney of the Year by his peers.

District Attorney Michael W. Jackson

District Attorney Michael W. Jackson of the 4th Judicial District will serve as president of the Alabama District Attorneys Association 2021-2022.

Jackson will be sworn in to serve a one-year term at 2:30 pm, July 7, 2021, in the Old House Chambers of the Alabama State House. 

In 2013, Jackson was awarded Alabama District Attorney of the Year by his peers. He is the first African-American District Attorney to receive this prestigious award. Jackson garnered state and national attention, as the first African-American elected district attorney for the 4th Judicial Circuit. In 1995, Jackson became a Municipal Judge for the City of Selma and was one of the youngest judges in the state of Alabama. Jackson began his legal career with the District Attorney’s Office in 1990. Jackson remains active in the community as he is a board member of Sabra Sanctuary, an organization dedicated to helping women who have been victims of abuse. 

Jackson has prosecuted several high-profile cases, including the Alabama Church Arson Cases in Bibb County, the Alabama Artifacts Case, and the case of ex-State Trooper Bernard Fowler. Fowler was found guilty of the murder of Jimmie Lee Jackson. Jimmie Lee Jackson’s murder and a subsequent guilty verdict led to the 1965 Selma to Montgomery Voting Rights March and the 1965 Voting Rights Act. 

New Officers of the ADAA Executive Committee are:

  • Daryl D. Bailey of Montgomery County, Vice President
  • Errek P. Jett of Lawrence County, Secretary-Treasurer. 
  • District Attorney Chris Connolly of Lauderdale County is the immediate past president.
  • Michael E. O’Dell of Cherokee and DeKalb Counties, is the ADAA representative to the National District Attorneys Association.

Executive Committee Members at large

  • Kenneth E. Davis of Russell County
  • R. Scott Anderson of Morgan County
  • D. Jeremy Duerr of Chambers, Macon, Randolph, and Tallapoosa Counties
  • Walter M. Merrell, III of Covington County
  • Lynneice O. Washington of Jefferson County, Bessemer Division
  • Charlotte M. Tesmer of Butler, Crenshaw, and Lowndes Counties
Written By

The Alabama Political Reporter is a daily political news site devoted to Alabama politics. We provide accurate, reliable coverage of policy, elections and government.



Vance, a principal at the Beasley Allen Law Firm, was installed at the Bar’s Annual Meeting on June 25.


The White House said the trip is to see the production of anti-tank Javelin missiles being sent to aid Ukraine.


Roberts will officially assume the office on May 16.


Montgomery recently renamed Jefferson Davis Ave for famed civil rights attorney Fred Gray, who grew up on the street.