Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Tuberville, Graham attend Katie Britt fundraiser

Republican senators with close Trump ties moving towards Kate Britt, away from Mo Brooks.

Republican Senate candidate Katie Britt, and Sen. Tommy Tuberville, right, at a fundraiser for Britt. (VIA POLITICO PLAYBOOK)

United States Senators Lindsey Graham, R-South Carolina, and Tommy Tuberville, R-Alabama, both close allies to former President Donald Trump, attended a Wednesday fundraiser for U.S. Senate candidate Katie Britt. 

That’s noteworthy because Britt’s opponent in the U.S. Senate Republican primary, U.S. Rep. Mo Brooks, R-Alabama, had received Trump’s endorsement. Tuberville has yet to endorse a candidate in the race. 

Politico’s reporting and tweets put Tuberville at Britt’s fundraiser, at which Graham was listed as a special guest on the invitation. 

Britt has raised $3.7 million in the Senate race, while Brooks has brought in less than half of that. Britt’s endorsement by the powerful Alabama Farmers Federation resulted in Brooks attacking fellow Republicans who also received ALFA’s endorsement, which drew swift criticism with those Republican lawmakers. 

With polls putting Britt and Brooks in a close race, Trump has begun to sour on Brooks, according to Politico’s reporting. 

“Trump in recent months has expressed disappointment over Brooks’ performance in the race, concerns echoed by others in his circle, according to a source familiar with the conversations,” Politico reported.

Written By

Eddie Burkhalter is a reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter. You can email him at [email protected] or reach him via Twitter.



The council also gave its endorsement to the six incumbent Congressional representatives.


The underlying prevailing theme emerging from the Alabama political arena this year is that women have arrived politically in the Heart of Dixie.


It would be safe to say she outworked Mo Brooks and Mike Durant combined three to one.

Featured Opinion

Only 13 percent of Alabamians turned out to vote in the June 21 runoff election.