Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Autauga-Prattville Library Board installs new officers

The board also chose applicants to recommend for the remaining vacant positions, but did not release those names.

Lettering on the outside of the Prattville Public Library against a brick wall.

The five all-new members of the Autauga-Prattville Public Library Board met for the first time Thursday in an emergency meeting to decide on officers.

Four of the five members of the board were appointed by the Autauga County Commission, and each of those four members were installed as officers.

City appointee Christie Sellers was the only member that did not become an officer. She voted in favor of each nomination.

Ray Boles will be chairman of the newly constituted board, and Rachel Daniels will serve as vice chair. Doug Darr will be treasurer and Logan Strock will round out the group as secretary.

After quickly installing the officers without discussion, Boles called for the board to go into executive session to discuss good name and character of the final two appointments that will need to be made to complete the board.

The group decided on two names to put forward as recommendations to the City of Prattville, but Boles declined to share those names with APR.

The names are to be submitted to the city today, and APR will be requesting the names of the recommended appointees at that time.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The recommendation process has typically been handled by a special committee in the past, but no committees currently exist due to the complete transformation of the board.

The recommendation process was ignored by the county commission, which ultimately led to the situation the library board is in now, as the remaining four board members resigned en masse immediately afterward.

The city and county split representation on the board. Each governing body appoints three long-term members and one seat rotates between the two bodies annually. Darr serves in the rotating seat and his term ends in November.

The board did not take any other action and is expected to wait for the final two board members before taking next steps.

Public comment also wasn’t taken at this meeting, although the previous board established a process for the public to comment during its meetings. That policy specifically applies to regularly scheduled meetings.

The next scheduled meeting for the board is at 9:30 a.m. on Feb. 8.

Jacob Holmes is a reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter. You can reach him at [email protected]

More from APR

Local news

Two of the new nominees rejected the idea that they are in Clean Up’s corner.

Local news

The new members come after a controversial appointment at its last meeting led to four board members resigning.

Local news

Three longstanding members of the Autauga-Prattville Public Library board abruptly quit Monday.

Local news

Councilman Tony Moore has spoken out against the library board for refusing to move some of the books challenged by Clean Up Alabama.