Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Democrats recognized with awards at end of session (Including Shroud)

By Beth Clayton
Alabama Political Reporter

MONTGOMERY–As the 2013 regular legislative session came to a close at midnight on Monday, May 20, several Democrats walked away with awards, despite what many have called a tough session.

Representative Patricia Todd (D-Birmingham) won the coveted “Shroud Award” for the “deadest bill” of the session, her trilogy of marijuana legalization bills.

None of the three bills relating to medicinal marijuana, legalization or decriminalization made it out of committees. After her first two attempts, the Health Committee “just said no” to her bills and her brownies, so she went for full legalization in the Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee. The law enforcement wing of the House was not convinced either.

The home brew bill was a previous winner of the Shroud Award and was signed into law this session. Perhaps Todd will resurrect her bills, as well.

In more serious awards, the House Democratic Caucus honored several of its members at their end of the year dinner Sunday evening.

The House caucus named Representatives Elaine Beech (D-Chatom) and Darrio Melton (D-Selma) Legislators of the Year in honor of their commitment to the values of the House Democratic Caucus.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

This year, the caucus added the James Buskey Leadership Award, which was given to Representative Thomas Jackson (D-Thomasville), the chairman of the House Democratic Caucus.

Representative James Buskey (D-Mobile), who has served in the legislature since 1976, was asked to select the representative who he felt demonstrated the most exemplary leadership qualities during the session.

Additionally, the caucus recognized their interns and legislative staff for their hard work throughout the session.

Written By