Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Merrill Creates Probate Judges Advisory Council

By Byron Shehee
Alabama Political Reporter

MONTGOMERY—Secretary of State John Merrill announced on Thursday, that the Secretary of State’s Office has created the Probate Judges Advisory Council.

The eight person council is a bipartisan collection of probate judges from counties across the State who will advise Sec. Merrill about issues that need improving at the county and state levels.  Specifically, the council was created to ensure that elections and corporate filings are administered appropriately, accurately, efficiently and as effectively as possible.

Merrill indicated that he believes the council will provide a better perspective from the local level to the Secretary of State’s office.  Merrill said, “I look forward to working with the Probate Judges to discuss business filings and elections at the county and state levels to ensure the issues important to the people of Alabama are clearly introduced, evaluated, and addressed as quickly and directly as possible.”

The council is currently comprised of four Republicans and four Democrats.  The Republicans are: Tammy Brown (Cullman County); Bill English (Lee County); Ryan Robertson (Cleburne County); and Tim Russell (Baldwin County). The Democrats are: Earlean Isaac (Greene County); W. Hardy McCollum (Tuscaloosa County); Terry Mitchell (Coosa County); and Steven Reed (Montgomery County).

The council held its first meeting on Tuesday, January 13, 2015, to establish criteria and goals and will continue to meet throughout the year.

Byron Shehee
Written By



A number of Alabama leaders expressed their condolences at the passing of the conservative host.


A group of 15 secretaries of state issued their support for the “Keep Nine Amendment” recently introduced in Congress.


A number of potential candidates will likely announce their intentions to run or not run for Senate in the coming weeks.


A number of Alabama dignitaries attended the inauguration including Congresswoman Terri Sewell and Sen. Tommy Tuberville.