Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Sean Hannity endorses Mo Brooks for US Senate

By Brandon Moseley
Alabama Political Reporter

Thursday, June 8, 2017, popular Fox News host, Sean Hannity, endorsed Congressman Mo Brooks (R-Huntsville) in the Alabama special election to fill the United States Senate seat formerly held by Attorney General Jeff Sessions.

Hannity said, “Mo Brooks will support Pres. Trump’s America First Agenda. He is a proven conservative we need in the Senate. Support@RepMoBrooks 4 senate”

The Brooks campaign wrote in a statement that, “Hannity is one of the most prominent and influential conservative voices in the country. An avid supporter of President Trump, Hannity hosts The Sean Hannity Show, a talk radio show that is syndicated to more than 500 stations and heard in all of the top 50 markets and has a loyal listenership of 13.5 million. Hannity also hosts a cable news show, Hannity, on Fox News Channel. Hannity’s endorsement follows the endorsements of other leading conservative thought leaders, including Laura Ingraham and Mark Levin.”

Congressman Brooks said, “With endorsements from leading national conservatives rolling in, my campaign is continuing to build momentum. Sean Hannity has carried the torch of conservatism for decades, and I’m proud to have his endorsement in this election.”

Mo Brooks is a member of the conservative House Freedom Caucus.

Ten Republicans are running for the US Senate race as Republicans. According to the Alabama Republican Party, the following individuals submitted qualifying paperwork to run for the US Senate seat: James Paul Beretta, Joseph F. Breault, Randy Brinson, Mo Brooks, Dom Gentile, Mary Maxwell, Roy Moore, Bryan Peeples, Trip Pittman, and Luther Strange.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Karen Haiden Jackson was disqualified by the Alabama Republican Party because she had run as an independent in a judicial race last year.

Eight candidates qualified with the Alabama Democratic Party to run in the US Senate Special Primary Election. Qualified candidates are Will Boyd, Vann Caldwell, Jason Fisher, Michael Hansen, Doug Jones, Robert Kennedy, Jr., Brian McGee, and Nana Tchienkou.

The special major party primaries are on August 15. The Special General Election will be on December 12, 2017.


Brandon Moseley is a former reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter.

More from APR

Featured Opinion

A viral video reveals that GOP lawmakers are clueless about problems facing working people.


Democrat Marilyn Lands made woman’s reproductive rights the primary issue of her campaign. 

Featured Opinion

Time after time, Republicans have proven that they do not care about women's rights or women's health care. Why are women still voting for...


Jeana Ross has clinched the House District 27 seat, rolling over Arab City Councilman Alan Miller.