Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


US Senate Special Primary polls open today

By Brandon Moseley
Alabama Political Reporter

Tuesday, August 15, 2017: Alabamians go to the polls to select their Senator to replace Jeff Sessions who vacated the position to become US Attorney General.

The polls open at 7:00 and close at 7:00 p.m.

You may only vote at the polling place which you are assigned.

If you do not know where your polling place is go to this site:

You must bring a valid photo ID with you in order to be given a ballot.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

If you do not have a valid photo ID, your local Board of Registrars can provide you with a free voter ID.  Contact the Alabama Secretary of State’s office for assistance or for more information.  Forms of photo ID accepted at the polls include valid: driver’s license; Alabama photo voter ID card; state issued ID (any state); federal issued ID; US passport; employee ID from Federal Government, State of Alabama, County, Municipality, Board, or other entity of this state; student or employee ID from a public or private college or university in the State of Alabama (including postgraduate technical or professional schools); Military ID; or Tribal ID.  An expired driver’s license is not acceptable so make sure to check your license to make sure that it is current.

Poll workers will ask you whether you want a Republican or a Democratic Party Ballot.  You can pick either one; but if there is a runoff on September 26 you can only vote in the primary runoff of the party that you voted in today.  Crossover voting has been outlawed by the state legislature; but Alabama does not have party registration.

Alabama Secretary of State John Merrill (R) said, “I directed our team at the Alabama Secretary of State’s Office to work with State Senator Tom Whatley and State Representative Arnold Mooney to support their efforts and meet their needs to plan a full implementation of their proposed legislation which would avoid any disruption in the electoral process. We have also contacted county election officials in the 67 counties to engage them in planning and research efforts to ensure the law is implemented efficiently.”

Sec. Merrill said, “The actual voting process for Alabama voters will not change during the August 15 primary, however, in the event that voters are required to return for a primary run-off (which if needed will be held September 26) they would only be able to cast a ballot for the same party they cast a ballot for during the August 15 primary. In the event that a voter does not participate in the primary the voter would make their party selection for the first time during the primary run-off held on September 26.”

The seven candidates running for Senate on the Democratic Primary ballot are: Will Boyd, Vann Caldwell, Jason Fisher, Michael Hansen, Doug Jones, Robert Kennedy, Jr., and Charles Nana.

The nine Republicans running for the US Senate include: James Paul Beretta, Joseph F. Breault, Randy Brinson, Mo Brooks, Mary Maxwell, Roy Moore, Bryan Peeples, Trip Pittman, and Luther Strange.

If no candidate gets more than 50 percent of the vote there will be a Special Primary Runoff election on September 26.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The Special General election will be on December 12, 2017.

The eventual winner will face re-election in 2020.


Brandon Moseley is a former reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter.

More from the Alabama Political Reporter


Brooks claims that during his last term there were only "two Republicans you could count on" in Alabama's delegation.

Party politics

Gregg Phillips — an election fraud conspiracy theorist who helped produce the debunked film "2000 Mules" — ran for party vice chairman.

Party politics

Chairman John Wahl secured a second term as leader of the Alabama Republican Party on Saturday.

Featured Opinion

Mo can’t seem to agree with himself.

Featured Opinion

Brooks' past performance shows Mo is for Mo and not the Republican Party.


New EPA regulations, not supported by Alabama's GOP congressmen, are one of the factors that have affected the decision.


Britt is the youngest Republican woman ever to serve in the U.S. Senate and the second youngest woman ever to serve in the U.S. Senate.


Looking back at some of my top stories from the year.