Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Trump declares five counties disaster areas

Outlined Alabama US state on grade school chalkboard

By Staff
Alabama Political Reporter

Alabama Gov. Kay Ivey (R) announced on Thursday that President Donald J. Trump (R) declared a major disaster exists in the state of Alabama as a result of Hurricane Nate. This federal declaration is in response to Gov. Kay Ivey’s major disaster request on October 30. The Federal Emergency Management Agency Public Assistance Program will provide all categories of assistance to five Alabama counties. The following five counties are included in this major disaster declaration: Baldwin, Choctaw, Clarke, Mobile and Washington.

“I appreciate President Trump following through on his promise to help Alabama recover from the effects of Hurricane Nate,” Gov. Ivey said. “The assistance given to our state through the major disaster declaration is welcomed news. EMA Director Brian Hastings is to be commended for his efforts in guiding this process.”

Gov. Ivey’s office said that the Federal Emergency Management Agency Public Assistance Program helps reimburse local governments, state agencies, eligible private non-profit organizations and electric co-operatives for certain expenses they have incurred during Hurricane Nate. Federal disaster aid is not available for individual residents.

Under the Public Assistance Program, state and affected local governments are eligible to apply for federal funding to pay 75 percent of the approved costs under certain categories such as debris removal and road repair related to the storm. FEMA previously approved reimbursement to state and local governments for costs associated with emergency protective measures taken during Hurricane Nate.

The FEMA Public Assistance program categories are as follows:

Category A: Debris Removal

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Category B: Emergency Protective Measures

Category C: Roads and Bridges

Category D: Water Control Facilities

Category E: Buildings and Equipment

Category F: Utilities

Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities and Other Items

In addition to the five counties receiving all categories of public assistance, this major disaster declaration also grants Category B assistance to the following counties: Autauga, Dallas and Macon.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

“Due to the number of disasters and the complexity of the disasters that FEMA is currently managing in several states and territories, Alabama Emergency Management Agency (AEMA) requested and received permission to run this disaster as a state-managed disaster,” AEMA Director Brian Hastings said. “This new level of involvement for the state will provide the state EMA staff with valuable experience and allow rapid response to the counties as the Public Assistance Program is administered.”

Representatives from the AEMA Recovery Division will explain procedures for requesting assistance at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly in the affected areas.

President Donald J. Trump declared that a major disaster exists in the state of Alabama and ordered federal assistance to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by Hurricane Nate from October 6 to Oct. 10, 2017.

Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

FEMA Administrator Brock Long named Warren J. Riley as the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas.

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

The Alabama Political Reporter is a daily political news site devoted to Alabama politics. We provide accurate, reliable coverage of policy, elections and government.

More from the Alabama Political Reporter


The federal government currently covers 75 percent of eligible costs of FEMA public assistance grants for disaster recovery.


Grassroots organizers are working to help residents of Selma after an EF-2 tornado struck the city.


The tornado claimed six lives in Autauga County and caused massive devastation in Selma.


Congresswoman Terri Sewell announced Sunday that President Joe Biden declared a major disaster in the state of Alabama.


“I am devastated and heartbroken by the tornado damage in my hometown of Selma and throughout the Black Belt," Sewell said.

Featured Opinion

Two years later, we're still learning new details about Jan. 6, but the lawmakers responsible have suffered no consequences.

Party politics

Speaking to University of Alabama college Republicans, Brooks focused his anger on Trump but spared no one from his ire.


Shirey has spent 30 years in healthcare and is the past president of the Alabama Optometric Association.