Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Alabama Republican Assembly announces endorsements

ENDORSEMENT - close-up of grungy vintage typeset word on metal backdrop. Royalty free stock illustration. Can be used for online banner ads and direct mail.

Wednesday, the Alabama Republican Assembly announced its endorsements for the 2018 Republican Primary.

The group held their statewide meeting in Prattville where they voted on their recommendations for statewide office, state legislature, and even some local offices ahead of the Republican primary on June 5.

The Assembly said in a statement, “We hope you will agree and vote for these outstanding individuals who are committed to conservative values, the rule of law, and changing the corrupt culture in state politics.”

For governor, the group endorsed evangelist, Scott Dawson

“I’m grateful for the members of the Alabama Republican Assembly and their commitment to holding the line for conservative values within the Party,” Dawson said Wednesday. “They have devoted countess volunteer hours towards advancing small government, a free market, the right to life, and our shared values; I look forward to working with them as the next Governor of Alabama.”

For Lt. Governor, the group endorsed State Senator Rusty Glover.

For Attorney General: Alice Martin

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

“I’m proud to have the endorsement of the @AlabamaRA! #alpolitics,” former U.S. Attorney Alice Martin said on social media.

For Secretary of State: John Merrill

“I am honored to receive yet another endorsement in my race to serve another term as your Secretary of State! Thank you to the members of the Alabama Republican Assembly for your support and confidence!” incumbent John Merrill said on social media after the endorsement.‬

For State Auditor: Jim Zeigler

“State government needed a watchman against waste and mismanagement. I have added that role to the State Auditor’s office,” Zeigler told the Assembly.

For Commissioner of Agriculture: Rick Pate

For Chief Justice of the Supreme Court: Tom Parker

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

For Associate Justice Place 1: Debra Jones

For Associate Justice Place 4: John Bahakel

For Court of Civil Appeals Place 1: Michelle Manley Thomason

For Court of Civil Appeals Place 2: Terri Willingham Thomas

For Court of Criminal Appeals Place 1: Richard Minor

For Court of Criminal Appeals Place 2: Chris McCool

For Court of Criminal Appeals Place 3: Bill Cole

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

For Congress, the group endorsed former Alabama courts administrator Rich Hobson in the Second Congressional District and incumbent Congressman Mo Brooks in the Fifth Congressional District.

For State Board of Education, they endorsed John Taylor in District 2 and Wayne Reynolds in District 8.

“The Alabama Republican Assembly is also excited to announce its endorsements for the 2018 Republican Primary in various State House and Senate Campaigns,” the group added. “We hope you will agree with us and vote for these outstanding individuals who are committed to Life, Liberty and Family. We must have elected leaders who are committed to governing honestly and ethically, and believe these candidates can best help our state move forward in the November election.”

For Alabama House of Representatives

  • District 3: Andrew Sorrell
  • District 4: Tom Fredericks
  • District 9: James R Bowling
  • District 10: Charles A. Orr
  • District 12: Corey Harbison
  • District 22: Ritchie Whorton
  • District 23: Tommy Hanes
  • District 31: Dustin DeVaughn
  • District 39: TJ Maloney
  • District 42: Jimmie Hardee
  • District 49: April Weaver
  • District 64: Stephen Sexton
  • District 73: Matt Fridy
  • District 87: Adam E Parker
  • District 88: Will Dismukes
  • District 89: Wes Allen
  • District 91: Lister H. Reeves, Jr.
  • District 105: Janet Brown Oglesby

In the Alabama Senate the Republican Assembly has endorsed:

  • District 2: Tom Butler
  • District 4: Paul Bussman
  • District 7: Sam Givhan
  • District 10: Mack N. Butler
  • District 12: Wayne Willis
  • District 13: Tim Sprayberry
  • District 21: Gerald Allen
  • District 25: Will Barfoot
  • District 32: David Northcutt
  • District 34: Jack Williams

Finally, in other races, the Assembly endorses the following:

Lauderdale Co Probate Judge: William Smith

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Tuscaloosa Co Probate Judge: Rob Robertson

Fayette Co Probate Judge: Mike Freeman

Jefferson Co District Attorney: Mike Anderton

Anderton said in a statement:

“I’m proud to receive this endorsement from the Alabama Republican Assembly. My promise to them, and to the people of Jefferson County, is that I will continue to do what I’ve been doing in the DA’s office for 34 years: uphold the law, seek the truth, and work to see justice done both for offenders and their victims and victim’s families.”

Tuscaloosa Co Circuit Clerk: Magaria Bobo

The Republican Assembly calls itself the Republican wing of the Republican Party.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The major party primaries will be on June 5.

Brandon Moseley is a former reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter.

More from APR


She has served as an associate justice on the Alabama Supreme Court since she was elected as a Republican in 2018.


The Alabama House District 55 special primary election is scheduled for Tuesday, Sept. 26.


BCA’s first slate of endorsed judicial candidates includes incumbents seeking re-election to their current seat.


Minor is seeking re-election to the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals in the March 2024 primary.