Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Municipal runoff elections results in Auburn, Gadsden, Bessemer, Montgomery


Voters went to the polls Tuesday in Auburn, Gadsden, Bessemer, and Montgomery to decide Municipal runoff elections.

In the City of Auburn, there were municipal runoff elections for the offices of Mayor and for city council in Wards 2,4,5, and 6.

For Mayor of Auburn, City Councilman Ron Anders Jr with 4361 votes defeated David B. Hill with 3688 votes.

For Auburn City Council Ward 2 Kelley Griswold defeated Todd D. Scholl 1089 to 623 votes. In Ward 4 Brett Smith defeated Jim Ryan 420 to 241. In Ward 5 Steve Dixon defeated Walter M. Northcutt 1137 to 779 votes. In Ward 6 Bob Parsons narrowly defeated Sarah Brown. At press time the margin was just 437 to 424 votes, that is 50.8 percent to 49.2 percent. These results are all still unofficial.

In the City of Bessemer, there were municipal runoff election for the offices of city council and for board of education on Tuesday.

In Bessemer District 1 city council Jarvis Collier defeated incumbent David Vance 273 votes to 199. In District 2 city council Kimberly Alexander defeated incumbent Chester Porter 523 votes to 463. In District 3 city council incumbent Cynthia Stephenson-Donald defeated Sarah Person 317 votes to 245.

For Bessemer Board of Education District 1 incumbent Amos Rembert Jr. defeated Claire Mitchell 252 to 219 votes. In School Board District 5 Jerome Cook defeated Lula Walter 134 to 69. In School Board District 7 Lee “Coach J” Jones defeated Carolyn Hudson Wilson 286 votes to 123.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In the City of Gadsden, incumbent Mayor Sherman Guyton was re-elected to another term. Mayor Guyton defeated current Etowah County Commissioner Carolyn Parker Guyton 3,879 to 2,713.

In Gadsden city council District 5, Jason Wilson defeated incumbent Billy Billingsley 520 votes to 269.

In the City of Montgomery there was a special municipal runoff election for city council District 4 which was vacated in May when incumbent David “Coach” Burkette (D) won a special election for State Senate District 26.

For Montgomery City Council District 5 Audrey Graham defeated Quartez “Dan” Harris. District 5 is in western Montgomery.

(Original reporting by the Cutoff News, WVTM TV Channel 13, the Montgomery Advertiser, and the Gadsden Times contributed to this report.)

Brandon Moseley is a former reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter.



The groups demand Hyundai stop using child labor and enter into negotiations for a community benefits agreement.


The funding aims to provide job training and educational opportunities to at-risk youth in Birmingham and Bessemer.


Ivey emphasized closing the gap between Alabama's graduation rate and its college and career ready rate.


The cost to attend a university is especially higher in Alabama than in many states.