Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


USDA designates Alabama counties as natural disaster areas

The USDA has designated 13 Alabama counties as primary disaster areas, due to damage and losses caused by Hurricane Zeta.

A satellite image of Hurricane Zeta after it swept through Alabama and the Southeast. (VIA NATIONAL HURRICANE CENTER/NOAA)

Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries Rick Pate announces that U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 13 Alabama counties as primary disaster areas, due to damage and losses caused by Hurricane Zeta that occurred from Oct. 28 through Oct. 29.

USDA reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined that there were sufficient production losses to warrant a secretarial natural disaster designation. In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of Alabama and adjacent states also have been named as contiguous disaster counties.

A secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency, provided eligibility requirements are met.

This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of a secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Disaster designation areas for Alabama:

Primary counties in Alabama:

  • Autauga
  • Cherokee
  • Chilton
  • Choctaw
  • Clarke
  • Dallas
  • Elmore
  • Lowndes
  • Marengo
  • Mobile
  • Monroe
  • Washington
  • Wilcox

Contiguous counties in Alabama:

  • Baldwin
  • Bibb
  • Butler
  • Calhoun
  • Cleburne
  • Conecuh
  • Coosa
  • Crenshaw
  • DeKalb
  • Escambia
  • Etowah
  • Greene
  • Hale
  • Macon
  • Montgomery
  • Shelby
  • Perry
  • Sumter
  • Tallapoosa

Contact your local county FSA office for further information. Find your county office here.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The Alabama Political Reporter is a daily political news site devoted to Alabama politics. We provide accurate, reliable coverage of policy, elections and government.



We just need more people to tout the good things Alabama has to offer.


VA officials said they felt compelled to offer the services for the first time to protect their beneficiaries and employees.


The brain drain is not a new phenomenon, but today’s mobile society seems to have accelerated the keep on moving mentality.


The Alabama section shows the information on 3,631,862 registered voters and includes home addresses.