Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Business Council of Alabama endorses 36 in state races

The Business Council of Alabama’s political action committee endorsed both incumbents and non-incumbents.

The logo of the Business Council of Alabama.

​​The Business Council of Alabama’s political action committee ProgressPAC on Wednesday announced  the endorsement of  36 additional candidates for the state House and Senate, including both incumbents and non-incumbents 

“ProgressPAC has been a strong voice for identifying, supporting and electing pro-jobs candidates for almost four decades,” Kevin Savoy, ProgressPAC’s chairman said in a statement. “ProgressPAC and BCA are proud to support candidates who demonstrate a commitment to cultivating an environment in Alabama that supports Alabama’s employers and their ability to create and sustain good jobs.” 

Drew Harrell, Executive Director of ProgressPAC, said in a press release that electing pro-jobs legislators has a positive impact across all of Alabama.

“ProgressPAC’s endorsed candidates demonstrate a pro-jobs and pro-business philosophy,” Harrell said. “This philosophy recognizes that a free enterprise system with less regulation and more opportunity creates the prospect for growth among businesses of all sizes and sectors across our state. These candidates are solution-oriented and dedicated to building a stronger future for Alabama.”  

The newly announced legislative candidates receiving ProgressPAC’s endorsements are listed below. 

Alabama Senate

District 11 – Lance Bell (R)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

District 14 – April Weaver (R)

District 20 – Linda Coleman-Madison (D)

District 26 – Kirk Hatcher (D)

District 28 – Billy Beasley (D)

District 31 – Mike Jones (R)

Alabama House of Representatives

District 3 – Kerry Underwood (R)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

District 9 – Scott Stadthagen (R)

District 10 – David Cole (R)

District 17 – Tracy Estes (R)

District 18 – Jamie Kiel (R)

District 20 – James Lomax (R)

District 23 – Mike Kirkland (R)

District 25 – Phillip Rigsby (R)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

District 26 – Brock Colvin (R)

District 29 – Jamie Grant (R)

District  31 – Troy Stubbs (R)

District 34 – David Standridge (R)

District 43 – Arnold Mooney (R)

District 48 – Jim Carns (R)

District 55 – Rod Scott (D)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

District 58 – Rolanda Hollis (D)

District 60 – Juandalynn Givan (D)

District 61 – Ron Bolton (R)

District 62 – Bill Lamb (R)

District 63 – Cynthia Almond (R)

District 64 – Donna Givens (R)

District 67 – Prince Chestnut (D)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

District 72 – Ralph Howard (D)

District 73 – Kenneth Paschal (R)

District 77 – TaShina Morris (D)

District 78 – Kenyatte’ Hassell (D)

District 88 – Jerry Starnes (R)

District 89 – Marcus Paramore (R)

District 95 – Frances Holk-Jones (R)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

District 99 – Sam Jones (D)

Eddie Burkhalter is a reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter. You can email him at [email protected] or reach him via Twitter.

More from APR


South stepped away from office to serve as President and CEO of the Chamber of Commerce of West Alabama.


We passed key legislation that will continue to make Alabama the best state in the country to live and do business. 


From navigating the legislative process to building relationships, these freshmen lawmakers approached their roles in different ways.


Speaker Nathaniel Ledbetter said he ranks the session among the most important held in state history.