Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Justice Sarah Stewart endorsed by Republican Sheriffs, law enforcement leaders

A group of 30 Republican sheriffs and police chiefs came out to support her effort to be the next chief justice.

Associate Justice Sarah Stewart Campaign photo

Alabama Supreme Court Justice Sarah Stewart picked up another round of key law enforcement endorsements this week when a group of 30 Republican Sheriffs and police chiefs came out to support her effort to be the next Chief Justice of the Alabama Supreme Court. 

These campaign endorsements come from some of Alabama’s most influential sheriffs and police chiefs and follow on the heels of Justice Stewart’s announcement last week that her campaign was endorsed by 26 Republican District Attorneys from across Alabama. 

“These endorsements solidify Justice Sarah Stewart as a true ‘Tough on Crime’ judge and should be a message to voters that she truly believes in ‘Law and Order,'” Shelby County Sheriff John Samaniego said. “Justice Stewart has the confidence of law enforcement officers, and our community is behind her.” 

Justice Sarah Stewart has 20 years of judicial experience, including six years on the supreme court. She has a proven conservative judicial record and a reputation for handing down long sentences to the worst criminals. 

“I am honored to have the support of these conservative Alabama law enforcement leaders,” Justice Stewart said. “Our county sheriff deputies and municipal police officers are the frontlines of protecting our communities and our property. They are faced everyday with the challenges presented by illegal immigration, a growing drug trade, and a pandemic of lawlessness across our nation. I’m thankful for their support, and they certainly have always had mine.” 

The list of law enforcement endorsements includes Sheriff John Samaniego, Shelby; Sheriff Billy Murray, St Clair; Sheriff Kevin Turner, Madison; Sheriff Hoss Mack, Baldwin; Sheriff Paul Burch, Mobile; Sheriff Sam Cochran (Ret.), Mobile; Sheriff Ron Abernathy, Tuscaloosa; Sheriff Scott Byrd, Coffee; Sheriff Joe Hamilton, Lauderdale; Sheriff Jimmy Kilgore, Talladega; Sheriff Rocky Harnen, Jackson; Sheriff Richard Stringer, Washington; Sheriff Dewayne Smith, Clarke; Sheriff Matthew Wade, Calhoun; Sheriff Jordan Powell, Pickens; Sheriff Marty Gottwald, Lamar; Sheriff Bryan Yerby, Fayette; Sheriff Heath Jackson, Escambia; Sheriff Phil Sims, Marshall; Sheriff Mason Bynum, Dale; Sheriff Tony Helms, Geneva; Sheriff Eric Balentine, Colbert; Sheriff Jeff Shaver, Cherokee; Chief Deputy Sheriff Josh Summerford, Cherokee; Sheriff Blake Turman, Covington; Sheriff Terry Mears, Crenshaw; Chief of Police Ron Tyler, Florence; Chief of Police Bill Partridge, Oxford; Chief of Police Aaron Carpenter, Chatom; and former ALEA Director now Director of Public Safety Charles Ward, Ozark. 

For more information visit our campaign website,

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The Alabama Political Reporter is a daily political news site devoted to Alabama politics. We provide accurate, reliable coverage of policy, elections and government.

More from APR


“I am honored to have the support of these law enforcement leaders,” Justice Stewart said.


The progressive organization's backing is typically very important in Democratic primaries in the state.


The Bridge and Bayway project eventually collapsed under the weight of widespread opposition, with Carl playing a pivotal role.


House District 27 includes Arab, Guntersville, Union Grove and Grant.