Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Six Republicans qualify in House District 74 special election

ELECTIONS - Red text on typography background - 3D rendered royalty free stock image. This image can be used for an online website banner ad or a print postcard.

The Alabama Republican Party closed its candidate qualifying period for the Alabama House of Representatives District 74 special Republican primary election in Montgomery County.

The Republican special primary election will include six candidates.

The following individuals have qualified to run for the District 74 seat: Michael Fritz, Tobias Grant, Jesse Caleb Heifner, Jay King, Charlotte Meadows and Daniel Sparkman.

On Friday, Sparkman left his job as Governor Kay Ivey’s press secretary.

On March 21, Michael Fritz announced that he was running for Mayor of Montgomery. On Tuesday, Fritz announced that he was suspending his campaign for Mayor and instead will run for the Alabama House District 74 seat.

HD74 became vacant when state Rep. Dimitri Polizos suddenly died from a heart attack.

The party primary runoff elections will be on Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019, and the general election will be on Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2019.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

If there is no need, for a Republican primary runoff, then the general election will be held Tuesday, Aug. 27, 2019.

Wayford Mack qualified as a Democrat. With no opponent, there will be no need for a Democratic primary.

Mack will await the winner of the Republican primary in the special general election.

The deadline for all independent candidates or minor parties to qualify is Tuesday, June 11, 2019, at 5:00 p.m.

Brandon Moseley
Written By

Brandon Moseley is a senior reporter with over nine years at Alabama Political Reporter. During that time he has written 8,297 articles for APR. You can email him at [email protected] or follow him on Facebook. Brandon is a native of Moody, Alabama, a graduate of Auburn University, and a seventh generation Alabamian.



Gov. Kay Ivey will soon call for a special election to fill Hatcher’s House seat.

Party politics

John Wahl has been elected as chairman of the Alabama Republican Party.


Scot Ames Jr., 24, was the instructor pilot killed in the T-38 trainer jet crash near the Montgomery Regional Airport.


Gray has had an exemplary 65-year career as a civil rights lawyer.