Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Alabama Farmers Federation elects leadership

Monday, the Alabama Farmers Federation elected its leaders were at the organization’s 98th annual meeting in Montgomery. Gov. Kay Ivey, Senate candidate Tommy Tuberville, and former Congressman Trey Gowdy (R-South Carolina) spoke to the group. The group presented Congresswoman Martha Roby (R-Montgomery) with the Service to Agriculture Award.

Conecuh County row crop and cattle farmer Steve Dunn, a row crop and cattle farmer, was reelected secretary-treasurer of the group.

Calhoun County ’s Jon Hegeman was elected Central Area vice president.

Wilcox County’s Jake Harper was reelected Southwest Area vice president.

Elections were held during the Federation’s business session where almost 500 voting delegates from all 67 counties chose officers and directors. Officers serve two-year terms.

Dunn was elected to his 10th term. He serves as Conecuh County Farmers Federation president and formerly served as State Young Farmers Committee chairman.

Hegeman is a first-generation farmer who manages greenhouses in Calhoun and Cherokee counties. He is a former State Young Farmers Committee chairman and was American Farm Bureau Federation Young Farmers & Ranchers chairman in 2015. In 2012, Hegeman and wife Amy were named Alabama’s Outstanding Young Farm Family. The Central Area includes Autauga, Bibb, Calhoun, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Fayette, Greene, Jefferson, Lamar, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tuscaloosa and Walker counties.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Harper is a cattle and timber farmer. He serves as Wilcox County Farmers Federation president. The Southwest Area includes Baldwin, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Hale, Lowndes, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox counties. Harper served as a district director from 1988-1996 and was first elected vice president in 2003.

Federation board members representing Districts 2, 5, 8 and 11 were elected or reelected to three-year terms.

Morgan County poultry and row crop farmer Mark Byrd was elected to the District 2 seat, which includes Limestone, Madison and Morgan counties.

Tuscaloosa County row crop farmer Joe Anders was reelected District 5 director. He serves Bibb, Fayette, Jefferson, Lamar and Tuscaloosa counties.

Dallas County cattleman Jimmy Holliman was elected director of District 8, which includes Choctaw, Dallas, Greene, Hale, Marengo, Perry, Pickens and Sumter counties.

Baldwin County cattle and row crop farmer Mark Kaiser was elected District 11 director. He represents Baldwin, Clarke, Conecuh, Escambia, Mobile, Monroe and Washington counties.

Women’s Leadership Committee Chairman Kathy Gordon of Montgomery County and State Young Farmers Committee Chairman Jonathan Sanders of Coffee County were elected for one year terms as ex-officio members of the board.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Brandon Moseley
Written By

Brandon Moseley is a senior reporter with over nine years at Alabama Political Reporter. During that time he has written 8,297 articles for APR. You can email him at [email protected] or follow him on Facebook. Brandon is a native of Moody, Alabama, a graduate of Auburn University, and a seventh generation Alabamian.



BamaCarry said in their endorsement that Hulsey has the passion and vision to lead Alabama to a bolder, more conservative future.


Helena Councilwoman Leigh Hulsey received the endorsement in the House District 73 Republican primary runoff.


Ted Hosp, David Dennis and Michael Smith were selected to join the Children First board of directors.

Municipal elections

Retired Montgomery County Administrator Donnie Mims announced that he is a candidate for a City Council vacancy.