Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Speaker announces changes, appointments in House committee structure

These changes are expected to stay in effect for the remainder of the quadrennium.

The floor of the Alabama House of Representatives during a special legislative session concerning prisons. (JOHN H. GLENN/APR)

Speaker of the House Mac McCutcheon, R-Monrovia, on Monday announced several changes in the House committee leadership structure that were prompted by resignations and vacancies.

“The Alabama House is fortunate to have a deep roster of talented and experienced individuals, so when one committee chair steps down, another blue chip lawmaker stands ready to seamlessly step in and fill that position,” McCutcheon said.  “Each of the members I have appointed has earned their position through hard work and deep commitment.”

State Rep. Andy Whitt, R-Harvest, was appointed chairman of the House Economic Development and Tourism Committee following the resignation of former State Rep. Becky Nordgren, R-Gadsden, who left the Legislature in order to fill her new elected role as Etowah County revenue commissioner.

State Rep. Ginny Shaver, R-Leesburg, will replace Whitt as vice chair of the Economic Development and Tourism Committee.

State Rep. Alan Baker, R-Brewton, has stepped down as chairman of the Local Legislation Committee in order to become vice chair of the agenda-setting Rules Committee, where he replaces former State Rep. Connie Rowe, R-Jasper, who resigned from the Legislature in order to accept a post on Lt. Gov. Will Ainsworth’s staff.

Baker has also been appointed vice chair of the Education Policy Committee, a position previously filled by State Rep. Danny Garrett, R-Trussville, who was recently appointed chairman of the Ways and Means Education budget-writing committee.

State Rep. Rex Reynolds, R-Huntsville, will replace Baker as chair of the Local Legislation Committee and will assume the position of vice chair of the Military and Veterans Affairs Committee, which was previously held by Rowe.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

These changes are expected to stay in effect for the remainder of the quadrennium.

Written By

The Alabama Political Reporter is a daily political news site devoted to Alabama politics. We provide accurate, reliable coverage of policy, elections and government.



It has already accrued a number of lawsuits challenging its legality since its passage during the 2022 legislative session.


More than 270 bills passed by the House and Senate were enacted during the 2022 legislative session.


The association has endorsed incumbents Ginny Shaver, Corley Ellis, Brett Easterbrook, Ralph Howard and Napoleon Bracy.


The association endorsed six more incumbents seeking re-election to their districts.