Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Ivey announces 33 new appointments to various boards and offices

On Thursday, Gov. Kay Ivey announced a new slate of public appointments to several boards and positions.

Gov. Kay Ivey gave remarks and posed for a group photo to the Alabama Girls State at Troy University’s Crosby Theater on June 6, 2023 in Troy, Ala. Governor’s Office /Hal Yeager

On Thursday, Gov. Kay Ivey announced a new slate of public appointments to several boards and positions. The new and reappointments are listed below including the District Attorney for the 7th Judicial Circuit.

Alabama Trust Fund Board

  • Mr. John Hornsby, Reappointment

Board of Nursing 

  • Dr. Sabria Danielle Baker, New
  • Dr. Louise O’Keefe, Reappointment
  • Ms. Cherry Denise Rodgers, Reappointment

Board of Optometry

  • Dr. Rob Pate, New
  • Dr. Howard Day, New
  • Dr. Mazen Sahawneh, Reappointment

Veteran Affairs Board

  • Colonel John Kilpatrick, New
  • Colonel Carrol Anne Toms, Reappointment

USS Alabama Battleship Commission

  • Captain Samuel Walker, New
  • Captain Edmond G. Eslava, III New
  • Captain Joseph H. Snowden, New
  • Ms. Virginia Edington, Reappointment
  • Mr. Aubury Fuller, Reappointment
  • Lt. Colonel Marcus Mitchell, Reappointment
  • Colonel Patrick Downing, Reappointment
  • Mr. Brian Butler, Reappointment
  • The Honorable Ben Brooks, Reappointment
  • Dr. Barry Booth, Reappointment

Alabama Coroner’s Training Commission

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
  • Dr. Brien Pierce, New

Home Medical Equipment Board

  • Ms. Sunny Smith, New

Lifespan Respite Coalition

  • The Honorable Will Barfoot, New
  • The Honorable Tim Melson, New
  • The Honorable Laura Hall, Reappointment
  • Dr. Rachel Winston, Reappointment

Conservation and Natural Resources Advisory Board

  • Mr. Ben Stimpson, Reappointment
  • Mr. Tim Wood, Reappointment
  • Mr. Greg Barksdale, Reappointment

Digital Expansion Authority Secretary

  • Daniel Urquhart, New

Alzheimer’s Disease Task Force

  • Ms. Daphne Johnston, New
  • Ms. Robyn James, New

Jefferson County Assistant Tax Collector

  • The Honorable Johnny Curry, New

District Attorney for 7th Judicial Circuit

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
  • Ms. Lynn Hammond, New

Patrick Darrington is a reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter. You can reach him at [email protected].

More from APR


Ivey announced the statewide progress being made in expanding high-speed internet.


Alabama may be poised to resolve the long-standing debate on gaming and finally let its people decide.


As the 2024 Legislative Session approaches, proponents of school choice in Alabama are gearing up for another push.

Featured Opinion

This Thanksgiving, there's a peculiar yet significant reason to express gratitude: the presence of competent governance.