Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Republican primary field for State Senate is set

By Brandon Moseley
Alabama Political Reporter

Major party qualifying ended on Friday. February 9 and there were a number of late changes in the state Senate slates, most notably Senator Slade Blackwell’s decision to pull out of his senate re-election race to pursue the governor’s office.

The Senate is currently composed of 26 Republicans, seven Democrats, and one independent.  Senate District 26, which was held by Sen. Quinton Ross, D-Montgomery, is currently vacant.

Incumbent GOP Senators Melson, Orr, Reed, Scofield, McClendon, Ward, Waggoner, Shelnutt, Albritton, Whatley, Chambliss, and Holley all are running unopposed in their Republican primaries.

GOP incumbents Chambliss, Albritton, Orr, Reed, Shelnutt, and Scofield do not have a major party opponent in either the primary or the general election.

Incumbent GOP Senators Bussman, Stutts, Marsh, Livingston, and Allen are all running again but face GOP primary opposition.

Incumbent GOP Senators Holtzclaw, Hightower, Dial, Glover, Blackwell, Williams, Sanford, Pittman, and Brewbaker are all leaving the Senate.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
  • In District 1, Sen. Tim Melson, R-Florence, is seeking re-election.
  • In District 2, Tom Butler is running against Steve Smith. Former Senator Tom Butler has changed to the Republican party and is running for his old seat.  Incumbent Bill Holtzclaw, R-Madison, is retiring from politics after two terms.
  • In District 3, incumbent Senator Arthur Orr, R-Decatur, is seeking re-election.
  • In District 4, Garlan Gudger is challenging incumbent Senator Paul Bussman, R-Cullman.
  • In District 5, Senate Majority Leader Greg J. Reed, R-Jasper, is running for another term.
  • In District 6, Senator Larry Stutts, R-Sheffield, is being challenged by: Eric Aycock, Daniel H. Boman, and Steve Lolley.  Dr. Stutts narrowly unseated longtime incumbent Roger Bedford, D-Russellville, in 2014.
  • In District 7, Alabama Republican Party Vice-Chair Sam Givhan is running against Alabama School Board Member Mary Scott Hunter for the seat incumbent Paul Sanford, R-Huntsville, is vacating.
  • In District 8, incumbent Senator Steve Livingston, R-Scottsboro, is being challenged by Max D. Fuller.
  • In District 9, incumbent Sen. Clay Scofield, R-Guntersville, is running for re-election.
  • In District 10, State Representative Mack N. Butler, R-Rainbow City, and Andrew Jones are competing for this open seat. Incumbent Sen. Phil Williams, R-Rainbow City, is not seeking another term.
  • In Senate District 11, Senator Jim McClendon, R-Springville, is running for his second term in the Alabama Senate.
  • In District 12, Senate President Del Marsh, R-Anniston, is facing challenger Wayne Willis.
  • In Senate District 13, long time incumbent Sen. Gerald Dial, R-Lineville, is retiring from the Senate to run for Alabama Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries.  Randy Price, Mike Sparks, and Tim Sprayberry are all three running for this open seat.
  • In District 14, incumbent Senator Cam Ward, R-Alabaster, is running for another term in the Senate.
  • In District 15, Miranda Carter and Dan Roberts are running for this open seat.  Incumbent Sen. Slade Blackwell, R-Mountain Brook, is leaving the Senate to run for governor.
  • In Senate District 16, incumbent Sen. J.T. “Jabo” Waggoner, R-Vestavia, is running for another term.  Waggoner has served in the legislature for over 50 years.
  • In District 17 incumbent Senator Shay Shelnutt, R-Trussville, is running for his second term.
  • In District 18 no Republican is running for the seat currently held by Senator Roger Smitherman, D-Birmingham.
  • District 19 no Republican is challenging for the seat currently held by Sen. Priscilla Dunn, D-Bessemer.
  • In District 20 there is no Republican challenging incumbent Senator Linda Coleman-Madison, D-Birmingham.   Districts 18, 19, and 20 are majority minority districts.
  • In District 21 Frank Chandler Jr. is running against incumbent Senator Gerald Allen, R-Tuscaloosa.
  • In District 22 incumbent Senator Greg Albritton, R-Atmore, is running for another term.
  • In District 23 no Republican is running for the seat currently held by Senator Hank Sanders, D-Selma.
  • In District 24 no Republican is running for the seat currently held by Sen. Bobby Singleton, D-Greensboro.
  • In District 25 Will Barfoot and Ronda McCaul Walker are running for this open seat.  Incumbent Senator Dick Brewbaker, R-Montgomery, is not seeking another term.
  • In District 26 D.J. Johnson is running for this vacant seat.  Quinton Ross, D-Montgomery, vacated the seat to become the President of Alabama State University.  Districts 23, 24, and 26 are all majority minority districts.
  • In Senate District 27 incumbent Tom Whatley, R-Auburn, is seeking his third term.
  • In District 28 no Republican is running for the seat currently held by William M “Billy” Beasley, D-Clayton.  Beasley is the only White Democrat currently in the Alabama Senate.
  • In District 29 state Representative Donnie Chesteen, R-Geneva, has qualified.  District 29 is currently held by Sen. Harri Anne Smith, the only independent in the Alabama Senate.  Smith told reporters that she is running again.
  • In District 30 Sen. Clyde Chambliss, Jr., R-Prattville, is seeking his second term in the Alabama Senate.
  • In District 31 incumbent Jimmy W. Holley, R-Elba, is running for another term.  This would be Holley’s sixth term in the Alabama Senate.  He has also served five terms in the Alabama House of Representatives.
  • In District 32 state Senator Lee “Trip” Pittman, R-Daphne, is not seeking re-election.  Jeff Boyd, Chris Elliott, David Northcutt, and Bill Roberts have all qualified in the Republican primary.
  • In District 33 no Republican is running for the seat currently held by Sen. Vivian Figures, D-Mobile.  Senate District 33 is a majority minority district.
  • In District 34 Mark Shirey and State Representative Jack Williams (R-Wilmer) have both qualified for this vacant seat.  Incumbent Sen. Rusty Glover, R-Semmes, is running for the vacant Lieutenant Governor’s seat.
  • In District 35, incumbent Sen. Bill Hightower, R-Mobile, is running for Governor.  State Representative David Sessions, R-Grand Bay, is running for the open seat.

Qualifying for both major parties ends on February 9.

The major party primaries will be on June 5, 2018.

Written By

Brandon Moseley is a senior reporter with over nine years at Alabama Political Reporter. During that time he has written 8,697 articles for APR. You can email him at [email protected] or follow him on Facebook. Brandon is a native of Moody, Alabama, a graduate of Auburn University, and a seventh generation Alabamian.



Brooks spoke to the Fayette County Republican Party at their regular monthly meeting.


Fuel, lumber, bricks, corn, wheat, copper, housing and labor have gotten more expensive in the last year, sparking fears of inflation.


Countryman was a 2018 candidate for the Democratic nomination for governor.


The letter urges Senate leadership to reject President Biden’s appointees to lead the immigration agencies.