Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Speaker nominee Ledbetter releases list of third round committee chair appointments

Ledbetter has selected eight committee chair appointments in his third round of nominations.

Alabama House Speaker nominee Nathaniel Ledbetter.

Republican nominee for Speaker of the Alabama House Nathanial Ledbetter, R-Rainsville, has selected eight committee chair appointments in his third round of nominations ahead of the state legislature’s regular session expected in early March.

In a statement released on Wednesday, Ledbetter said that these most recent appointments “represent a mix of veteran chairs with valuable experience and newly-appointed members of the leadership team with fresh perspectives” and added that he believes each processes the “the knowledge and skills necessary” to successfully chair their respective committees.

With this new round, some representatives will retain their chairmanship positions.

State Rep. Chris Blackshear, R-Phenix City, was selected to continue his chairmanship of the state House Financial Services Committee, a position he was originally appointed to in 2019 by former Speaker of the House Mac McCutcheon, R–Monrovia. Likewise, State Rep. Allen Treadaway, R-Morris, will maintain his chairmanship of the House Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee, a position he has held since 2016.

State Rep. Andy Whitt, R-Harvest, is selected to maintain his chairmanship of the Economic Development and Tourism Committee, a position he has held since the resignation of Former State rep. Becky Nordgren, R-Gadsden, in 2022.

Representatives who also held vice chair positions within committees during previous legislative sessions will ascend to the chairman position.

State Rep. Chris Sells, R-Greenville, and State Rep. Corley Ellis, R-Columbiana, are nominated to take the lead in committees where they previously served as vice chairmen. Sells as chairman of the state House State Government Committee, and Ellis as chairman of the House Insurance Committee.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Similarly, State Rep. David Standridge, R-Hayden, is selected to serve as chairman of the House Rural and Urban Development Committee, a committee he previously served as vice chairman.

State Rep. Ginny Shaver, R-Leesburg, who was selected to chair the state House Children and Senior Advocacy Committee, and State Rep. Matt Simpson, R-Daphne, who was selected to chair the state House Ethics and Campaign Finance Committee, both served as members of their respective committees during the previous legislative session.

John is a reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter. You can contact him at [email protected] or via Twitter.

More from the Alabama Political Reporter


Ledbetter said the House is primed to pass the proposed ARPA funding bill in this second week of the special session.


Jones is respected by lawmakers from both parties and his selection by Biden was well received.


All congressional, Alabama Senate and House, and State Board of Education redistricting maps passed, nearly unscathed, through the Alabama Statehouse.


Speaker of the House Mac McCutcheon on Monday expressed optimism that the state will address its long-neglected prisons.


Former Chairman Bill Poole, R-Northport, recently resigned from the Alabama House of Representatives after being appointed state finance director.


His comments come after the speaker's refusal to seat all five Republican nominees for the Select Committee on January 6.


District 92 includes all of Covington County and portions of Escambia and Coffee Counties.


House Majority Leader Nathaniel Ledbetter on Friday was elected to chair the Economic Development, Transportation &; Cultural Affairs Committee of the Southern Legislative Conference