Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Senate Announces Committee Assignments

By Brandon Moseley
Alabama Political Reporter

On Wednesday, January 14, the Alabama Senate announced its committee assignments for the next four years.

(See full list of committee assignments here.)

State Senator Tom Whatley (R) will chair the Senate Agriculture, Conservation, and Forest Committee.

Sen. Slade Blackwell (R) will be the chairman of the Banking & Insurance Committee.

The Confirmations Committee will by chaired by Senator Clay Scofield (R).

The Constitution, Campaigns, & Elections Committee will be chaired by Bill Hightower (R).

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The County & Municipal Government Committee will be chaired by Sen. Paul Sanford (R).

Education & Youth Affairs will be Chaired by Sen. Dick Brewbaker (R).

The Finance & Taxation Education Committee will be Chaired by Sen. Trip Pittman (R).

The Finance & Taxation General Fund Committee Chairman will be Sen. Arthur Orr (R).

Fiscal Responsibility & Economic Development will be Chaired by Sen. Phil Williams (R).

Sen. Gerald Dial (R) will be the Chairman of the Senate Health Committee.

The Judiciary Committee will be chaired by Sen. Cam Ward (R).

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Senator Jabo Waggoner (R) will be the Chairman of the powerful Senate Rules Committee.

Governmental Affairs will be chaired by Sen. Charlie Hollie (R).

Transportation & Energy will be chaired by Sen. Gerald Allen (R).

Sen. Del Marsh (R) will be the chairman of the Senate Tourism Committee.

The Veteran & Military Affairs Chairman will be Sen. Bill Holtzclaw (R).

Because the Republicans are the majority party in the Alabama Senate, under Senate, rules they get all of the Chairmanship positions.

Senator Del Marsh (R) will continue as Senate President Pro Tempore. Senator Marsh said in a written statement, “I want to thank my colleagues for reelecting me President Pro Tem of the Senate. We have made so much progress over the past four years, and I look forward to leading the Senate as we continue to work for Alabama’s hard working families over the next four years.”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Sen. Greg Reed (R) will be the Senate Majority Leader.

Sen. Quinton Ross (D) will be Senate Minority Leader.

The people of Alabama will be led in the Senate for the next four years by 26 Republicans, 8 Democrats, and one Independent.

The Alabama Political Reporter has a full list of Senate Committee assignments here.

Brandon Moseley
Written By

Brandon Moseley is a senior reporter with over nine years at Alabama Political Reporter. During that time he has written 8,297 articles for APR. You can email him at [email protected] or follow him on Facebook. Brandon is a native of Moody, Alabama, a graduate of Auburn University, and a seventh generation Alabamian.


Featured Opinion

"There were plenty of big issues and big ideas going into this session. There were very few big accomplishments."


McCutcheon said that the governor might call a special session on gambling "if there is an opportunity.”


The SMART Act establishes a flat income tax of 17 percent on all income.


The House has an 18-bill special order calendar for the last day of the 2021 Legislative Session.