Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Lots of competitive State Senate races in primaries

ELECTIONS - Red text on typography background - 3D rendered royalty free stock image. This image can be used for an online website banner ad or a print postcard.

On Tuesday, Alabama voters go to the polls to select who they want representing their party in the state legislature. There are a number of competitive primary battles to watch on Tuesday.

In the Republican Primary:

In district 2 former state Senator Tom Butler is attempting to make a political comeback. Butler served several terms in the Senate as a Democrat until being unseated in the 2010 election by Bill Holtzclaw who is retiring. Butler faces Madison city Councilman Steve Smith in the Republican Primary.
In District 4 incumbent Paul Bussman, R-Culman, faces a well-funded challenger in Garlan Gudger.

In District 6 incumbent Larry Stutts, R-Sheffield, faces two GOP primary challengers in Eric Aycock and Steve Lolley.

In District 7 Sam Givhan faces Mary Scott Hunter. Sam Givhan is the former Vice Chair of the Alabama Republican Party. Mary Scott Hunter serves on the state school board.

In District 8 Max D. Fuller is challenging incumbent Sen. Steve Livingston, R-Scottsboro.

In District 10 state Representative Mack N. Butler, R-Rainbow City, and Cherokee County and Andrew Jones are competing for this seat.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In District 12 incumbent Senator Del Marsh, R-Anniston, is facing a challenge from Wayne Willis.

In District 13 Randy Price, Mike Sparks, and Tim Sprayberry are competing for this open seat.

In District 21 incumbent Sen. Gerald Allen, R-Tuscaloosa, is facing challenger Frank Chandler Jr.

District 25 attorney Will Barfoot and Montgomery County Commissioner Ronda Walker are competing for an open seat.

In District 32 Jeff Boyd, Chris Elliott, David Northcutt and Bill Roberts are all running for the open seat.

In District 34 Mark Shirey and state Rep. Jack Williams, R-Wilmer, are competing for an open seat.

In the Democratic primary:

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

In District 2 Michael L Smith and Amy Wasyluka are running for this open seat.

In State Senate District 7 Deborah Barros, Johnathan Hard, and Deidra Willis are running for the open seat. District 7 is an open seat.

In State Senate District 26 Montgomery City Councilman Fred Bell, Councilman”Coach” David Burkette, and State Representative John Knight are all running for the seat. Burkette is technically the incumbent having won the seat three weeks ago in a special election.

In State Senate 33 Michael R. Cooley and Victor Tshombe Crawford are both challenging incumbent Senator Vivian Davis Figures, D-Mobile.

Polls open at 7:00 a.m. on Tuesday morning and close at 7:00 p.m. Most of the primary winners will still general election opponents on November 6.

Brandon Moseley is a former reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter.

More from APR

Special Session

With the special session adjourned, the fight over the redistricting process returns to the courts with a hearing set for Aug. 14.

Special Session

When they return to the floor this morning, the debate will be on the same maps they have already passed.


Not surprisingly, the alcohol industry is lobbying heavily to expand the sale of these beverages.


Proponents say the voucher system gives parents the freedom to choose better educational environments.