Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Alabama Trucking Association’s PAC endorses Mike Jones for state Senate

Jones is running to fill state Senate District 31, that’s being vacated by the retirement of Sen. Jimmy Holley.

State Rep. Mike Jones

The Alabama Trucking Association’s TRUK PAC has endorsed Republican state rep. Mike Jones for state Senate District 31.  

“Mike Jones is a proven leader that understands what it takes to create jobs and keep Alabama moving forward,” Greg Brown, TRUK PAC chairman, said in a statement. “Trucking is an essential industry throughout Senate District 31 employing thousands of Alabamians, and we are proud to support Mike in the 2022 election.”

State Senate District 31 represents Coffee, Covington, Dale, and Pike counties. The seat is being vacated by the retirement of Sen. Jimmy Holley. 

Jones, attorney and municipal court judge in Andalusia, was elected to the Alabama House of Representatives in 2010 where he has served as the Rules chairman for the last four years. 

“I am honored to receive this endorsement. The trucking industry is the key to getting the goods we use every day to us,” Jones said in a statement. “The hardworking men and women who drive trucks are key to ensuring that we have the products that we need to feed our families, operate our businesses, put fuel in our automobiles and get our products to market. Without them, America would not be able to thrive.” 

Written By

Eddie Burkhalter is a reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter. You can email him at [email protected] or reach him via Twitter.



Katie Britt and associate Supreme Court justice candidate Greg Cook were the only non-incumbents to receive endorsements.


The bill's opponents include the Business Council of Alabama, Health Freedom Alabama and the Alabama Department of Labor.


Both of the new maps now head to Gov. Kay Ivey's desk for her signature.


Sen. Chesteen, R-Geneva, is seeking re-election to serve state Senate District 29.