Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Farmers Federation members elect leaders during centennial celebration

The Alabama Farmers Federation held leadership elections during its annual meeting Dec. 6 in Montgomery.


The Alabama Farmers Federation held leadership elections during its annual meeting Dec. 6 in Montgomery. The gathering was highlighted by the state’s largest farm organization celebrating its centennial year.

Steve Dunn, a Conecuh County row crop and cattle farmer, was re-elected secretary-treasurer.

Calhoun County’s Jon Hegeman was reelected Central Area vice president, and Jake Harper of Wilcox County was reelected Southwest Area vice president.

Elections were held during the Federation’s business session, where nearly 500 voting delegates from all 67 counties selected officers and directors. Officers serve two-year terms, and directors serve three-year terms. Officers and district directors also serve on the Alfa Insurance Co. board of directors.

Dunn’s election is statewide and marks his 12th term as secretary-treasurer. He also serves as Conecuh County Farmers Federation president and is a former State Young Farmers Committee chairman.

Hegeman will serve his second term as Central Area vice president. He manages greenhouses in Calhoun and Cherokee counties and is a former State Young Farmers Committee chairman. He was American Farm Bureau Federation Young Farmers & Ranchers chairman in 2015. The Central Area includes Autauga, Bibb, Calhoun, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Fayette, Greene, Jefferson, Lamar, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tuscaloosa and Walker counties.

This is Harper’s 10th term as Southwest Area vice president. A cattle and timber farmer, Harper also serves as Wilcox County Farmers Federation president and was a district director from 1988-1996. The Southwest Area includes Baldwin, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Hale, Lowndes, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox counties.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Federation board members representing Districts 1, 4, 7 and 10 were chosen for three-year terms.

Walker County poultry, cattle and row crop farmer Dorman Grace was elected District 1 director. The area includes Colbert, Franklin, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Marion and Walker counties. He replaces former District 1 director Brian Glenn of Lawrence County who served nine years. Grace also serves as Walker County Farmers Federation president.

Cullman County poultry and row crop farmer Steve Lake was elected director of District 4, which includes Blount, Cullman, Marshall and Winston counties. He replaces former District 4 director Tim Whitley of Blount County. Lake also is a Cullman County Farmers Federation board member.

Elmore County produce farmer Joe Lambrecht was reelected to his third term as District 7 director, which includes Chambers, Coosa, Elmore, Lee, Macon, Russell and Tallapoosa counties. Lambrecht is an Elmore County Farmers Federation board member.

Barbour County poultry and cattle farmer Trip Horne was elected District 10 director, which includes Barbour, Bullock, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw and Pike counties. He replaces Steve Stroud of Pike County who served six years and did not seek reelection. Horne also serves as Barbour County Farmers Federation president.

Elected to one-year, ex-officio terms on the state board were Women’s Leadership Committee Chairman Lydia Haynes of Cullman County and State Young Farmers Committee Chairman Mitchell Henry of Lawrence County.

The Alabama Political Reporter is a daily political news site devoted to Alabama politics. We provide accurate, reliable coverage of policy, elections and government.

More from the Alabama Political Reporter


Ledbetter will appear on Simply Southern TV in a featured interview with co-host Kevin Worthington.


FarmPAC on Monday endorsed eight incumbent justices and judges seeking re-election in 2024.


The Cultivator Award honors leaders who foster relationships to benefit farmers, members and rural communities.


The Service To Agriculture Award is the organization’s highest honor.


Delegates unanimously re-elected Jimmy Parnell to his sixth two-year term as Alabama Farmers Federation president.


The association is supporting Lance Bell, Jay Hovey and Pete Riehm.


The Alabama Farmers Federation has endorsed state representatives Gil Isbell, Steve Hurst and Matt Simpson.


The Alabama Farmers Federation made four more endorsements in state House races on Thursday.