Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Montgomery’s SYLDI to honor Rosa Parks, nine women carrying her legacy forward

Nine remarkable women will be honored this weekend in Montgomery for their embodiment of her strength and dignity.

Rosa Parks

In a tribute to Rosa L. Parks, nine remarkable women will be honored this weekend in Montgomery for their embodiment of her strength and dignity. The Southern Youth Leadership Development Institute (SYLDI) will host the Second Annual Rosa L. Parks Awards Gala at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center on Saturday, December 2, 2023. This event is a part of a series marking the 68th anniversary of Mrs. Parks’ arrest and the consequent Montgomery Bus Boycott, a pivotal moment in the civil rights movement.

Prior to the Gala, at 11 am, the honorees will engage in a roundtable discussion at Mrs. Parks’ former home on Cleveland Court, reflecting on her profound influence on their lives and careers. This pre-Gala event and the Gala itself are open to media, with opportunities for photos, videos, and interviews.

The 2023 Rosa Parks Honorees are a diverse group of accomplished women, including Vicky Bailey, former Assistant Secretary at the U.S. Department of Energy; Victory Brinker, an opera vocalist; Stephanie Bryan, Tribal Chair & CEO of Poarch Band of Creek Indians; and Collette Honorable, former Commissioner of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. The list also features Dr. Charlotte Morris, President of Tuskegee University; Nichole Francis Reynolds, Vice President & Global Head of Government Relations at Service Now; Dr. Condoleezza Rice, former U.S. Secretary of State; Sheron Rose, Executive Vice President at Montgomery Area Chamber of Commerce; and Dr. Tonea Stewart, an actress and educator.

The event’s honorary co-chairs are prominent leaders including Vicki Hollub, president and CEO of Occidental Petroleum Corporation; Dr. Michael Lomax, president and CEO of the United Negro College Fund; and Chris Womack, CEO of Southern Company.

The National Host Committee comprises influential figures such as The Honorable Terri Sewell of Alabama, Former Secretary of Transportation Rodney Slater, The Honorable Lottie Shackelford of Little Rock, Arkansas, Dr. Bernice A. King, Ms. Latosha Brown, Rev. Regena Thomas, and John Danielson.

For additional details or to purchase tickets for the Gala, interested parties are directed to visit

Schedule of Events:

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Roundtable Discussion with Rosa Parks Honorees: December 2, 2023, 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 a.m., Rosa Park Home, 660 Cleveland Court, Montgomery, Alabama.

Second Annual Rosa L. Parks Awards Gala: December 2, 2023, 7:00 pm, Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, 201 Tallapoosa Street, Montgomery, AL.

The Alabama Political Reporter is a daily political news site devoted to Alabama politics. We provide accurate, reliable coverage of policy, elections and government.

More from APR


The Civil Rights Memorial Center opens Jubilee weekend with its annual wreath laying ceremony today.


If we are to truly honor his legacy, we must also be brave and speak out against militarism.


The campaign aims to raise $7.5 million for a historic economic leap to empower 10,000 women.


The bill would make December 1 a federal holiday commemorating the arrest of Rosa Parks.