Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Twinkle Cavanaugh to speak at Pike County GOP’s “Make America Conservative Again” meeting

Cavanaugh will speak to the Pike County Republican Party’s “Make America Conservative Again” meeting in Troy.


The Pike County Republican Party will host the “Make America Conservative Again” meeting in Troy on Tuesday.

The meeting will feature a discussion with Alabama Public Service Commission President Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh, a Republican, on ways in which to protect and promote conservative values and to elect conservative candidates in Alabama and across the country.

“So many people have expressed interest in getting involved in conservative Republican politics and we believe that this meeting is a great way to start getting involved,” Pike County Republican Party Chairman State Rep. Wes Allen, R-Troy, said.

Cavanaugh was elected PSC president in 2012 and re-elected in 2016 and 2020. She previously was elected as a member of the PSC in the Republican wave election of 2010. Prior to that, she served as the first woman chair of the Alabama Republican Party and was co-chief of staff for Republican Gov. Bob Riley. Cavanaugh also served on the staff of the Republican National Committee and at one point was a candidate for RNC chair.

Allen has announced that he is seeking the Republican nomination for Alabama secretary of state. Current Republican Secretary of State John Merrill is term-limited from seeking re-election.

The meeting is open to anyone who wants to attend and admission is free. It will begin at 6 p.m on Tuesday, May 25, at the Studio in Troy. The Studio is located at 303 East Walnut Street.

Brandon Moseley is a former reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter.

More from APR


Manufacture Alabama pointed to Cavanaugh's "deep understanding of the energy sector, coupled with her dedication to fostering economic growth."


The app was implemented to help Alabamians register to vote and obtain information about their polling place.


The Singleton plaintiffs had their day in court Tuesday, arguing that the state's map committed racial gerrymandering.


Alabama attorneys are required to complete 12 hours of approved continuing legal education per year.