Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Auburn BOT names Steven Leath Auburn’s 19th President

By Brandon Moseley
Alabama Political Reporter

Monday, March 20, 2017, the Auburn University Board of Trustees unanimously selected Iowa State University President Steven Leath after a six-month national search. The University announced that Leath starts on July 15, and replaces Jay Gogue, who announced his retirement in September.

Trustee Raymond Harbert said, “This is a great day for Auburn. Dr. Leath is a strategic leader who will work alongside the campus community and alumni to elevate Auburn to the next level in instruction, research and outreach.”

Since 2012, Leath has led Iowa State. While president, Iowa State achieved its highest student graduation rate, lowered student debt, grew research expenditures, set fundraising records and secured the university’s largest private gift for an academic facility.

Leath began his career as a plant pathologist at the University of Illinois, Urbana. He spent much of his career in North Carolina, serving as vice president for research at the University of North Carolina System prior to his selection at Iowa State. He received degrees in plant science and plant pathology from Pennsylvania State University, the University of Delaware and the University of Illinois.

Larry Teeter, Professor of Forest Economics and Immediate past Chair of the University Senate, said, “We found an accomplished leader through an inclusive search process with all campus constituencies represented. Teeter served on the presidential search committee along with representatives of Auburn students, faculty, staff and alumni.

Gogue has held Auburn’s top position since July 2007.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

BOT President Pro Tem Charles McCrary said, “The contribution Jay and Susie Gogue made to Auburn is immeasurable. We’re fortunate they will remain part of the Auburn community.”

The Auburn University Board of Trustees has approved the selection of Steven Leath as the University’s 19th President.

Brandon Moseley is a former reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter.

More from APR


Dothan mayor Mark Saliba will serve as president, while Fairhope mayor Sherry Sullivan was elected as Vice President.


For 18 years, Cramer served Alabama’s 5th Congressional District in Washington.

Local news

Reed is expected to be named president of the AAMA later this week.


The committee amended the bill to ensure there is no right to contraception after implantation of the embryo.