Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Business Council of Alabama makes endorsements

The powerful Business Council of Alabama (BCA) has made their endorsements ahead of the 2018 party primaries.

BCA said in a statement, “Legislative success happens when the right people are elected, and that’s what our political action is all about — electing candidates who understand the issues and are not afraid to step up and lead Alabama in the right direction. We remain committed to fighting for Alabama’s future by endorsing pro-jobs candidates who will help lead Alabama in the right direction.”

“Elections are a battle to ensure that a pro-jobs majority in the Legislature leads with a pro-jobs agenda and takes on the status quo to reform our public education system, and we need your help to win!” BCA added. “Well-funded special interest groups continue to fight to dismantle the free enterprise system and promote costly regulations, frivolous lawsuits, unfair labor laws and more.”

The primary elections will be held on June 5, 2018.

For Governor BCA endorses Governor Kay Ivey (R).
For Lieutenant Governor BCA endorses Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh (R). Cavanaugh is currently the Public Service Commission President.
For Attorney General BCA endorses Steve Marshall (R).
For Secretary of State BCA endorses incumbent John Merrill (R).
For State Treasurer BCA endorses John McMillan (R). McMillan is currently the Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries.

For Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries BCA endorses Rick Pate (R).
For the Alabama Senate, the Business Council of a Alabama endorses:
District 1: incumbent Tim Melson (R-Florence)
District 3: incumbent Arthur Orr (R-Decatur)
District 4: incumbent Garlan Gudger (R-Cullman)
District 5: incumbent Senate Majority Leader Greg Reed (R-Jasper)
District 8: incumbent Steve Livingston (R-Scottsboro)
District 9: incumbent Clay Scofield (R-Arab)
District 12: incumbent Senate Pro Tem Del Marsh (R-Anniston)
District 13: Randy Price (R-Opelika)
District 14: incumbent Cam Ward (R-Alabaster)
District 16: incumbent Jabo Waggoner (R-Vestavia Hills)
District 17: incumbent Shay Shelnutt (R-Trussville)
District 18: incumbent Rodger Smitherman (D-Birmingham)
District 21: incumbent Gerald Allen (R-Tuscaloosa)
District 22: incumbent Greg Albritton (R-Bay-Minette)
District 25 Ronda Walker (R-Montgomery)
District 29: Donnie Chesteen (R-Geneva)
District 30: incumbent Clyde Chambliss (R-Prattville)
District 31: incumbent Jimmy Holley (R- Elba)
District 32: Chris Elliott (R-Daphne)
District 34: Jack Williams (R-Wilmer)
District 35: David Sessions (R-Mobile)

For the Alabama House of Representatives the Business Council of Alabama endorses:
District 1: incumbent Phillip Pettus (R-Killen)
District 2: incumbent Lynn Greer (R-Rogersville)
District 3: Humphrey Lee (R-Sheffield)
District 4: Parker Moore (R-Decatur)
District 5: incumbent Danny Crawford (R-Athens)
District 6: Andy Whitt (R-Huntsville)
District 8: incumbent Terri Collins (R- Decatur)
District 9: Scott Stadthagen (R-Hartselle)
District 10: incumbent Mike Ball (R-Madison)
District 11: incumbent Randall Shedd (R-Cullman)
District 12: incumbent Corey Harbison (R-Cullman)
District 13: incumbent Connie Rowe (R-Jasper)
District 14: Richard “Bull” Corry (R-Oakman)
District 16: incumbent Kyle South (R-Fayette)
District 20: incumbent Howard Sanderford (R-Huntsville)
District 24: incumbent Nathaniel Ledbetter (R-Rainsville)
District 25: incumbent Speaker of the House Mac McCutcheon (R-Monrovia)
District 26: incumbent Kerry Rich (R-Guntersville)
District 27: Wes Kitchens (R-Arab)
District 30: Craig Lipscomb (R)-Rainbow City
District 36: incumbent Randy Wood (R-Anniston)
District 39: T. J. Maloney (R-Heflin)
District 40: incumbent K.L. Brown (R- Jacksonville)
District 41: incumbent Corley Ellis (R-Columbiana)
District 42: incumbent Jimmy Martin (R-Clanton)
District 43: incumbent Arnold Mooney (R-Indian Springs)
District 44: incumbent Danny Garrett (R-Trussville)
District 45 incumbent Dickie Drake (R-Leeds)
District 46: incumbent David Faulkner (R-Birmingham)
District 47: David Wheeler (R-Vestavia)
District 48: incumbent Jim Carns (R-Birmingham)
District 49: incumbent April Weaver (R-Alabaster)
District 50: incumbent Jim Hill (R-Odenville)
District 53: incumbent Anthony Daniels (D-Huntsville)
District 55: incumbent Rod Scott (D-Fairfield)
District 61: Rodney Sullivan (R-Northport)
District 62: incumbent Rich Wingo (R-Tuscaloosa)
District 63: incumbent Bill Poole (R-Tuscaloosa)
District 64: incumbent Harry Shiver (R-Bay Minette)
District 65: incumbent Elaine Beech (D-Chatom)
District 66: incumbent Alan Baker (R-Brewton)
District 67: incumbent Prince Chestnut (D-Selma)
District 69: incumbent Kelvin Lawrence (D-Hayneville)
District 71: incumbent A.J. McCampbell (D-Livingston)
District 73: incumbent Matt Fridy (R-Montevallo)
District 75: incumbent Reed Ingram (R-Montgomery)
District 79: incumbent Joe Lovvorn (R-Auburn)
District 80: incumbent Chris Blackshear (R-Phenix City)
District 81: Ed Oliver (R-Dadeville)
District 82: incumbent Pebblin Warren (D-Tuskegee)
District 85: incumbent Dexter Grimsley (D-Newville)
District 86: incumbent Paul Lee (R-Dothan)
District 87: Jeff Sorrells (R-Harford)
District 88: Jeremy Arthur (R-Prattville)
District 89: Marcus Paramore (R-Troy)
District 91: Rhett Marques (R-Enterprise)
District 92: incumbent Mike Jones (R-Andalusia)
District 93: incumbent Steve Clouse (R-Ozark)
District 94: incumbent Joe Faust (R-Fairhope)
District 95: incumbent Steve McMillan (R-Bay Minette)
District 96: Matt Simpson (R-Mobile)
District 97: incumbent Adline Clarke (D-Mobile)
District 98: incumbent Napoleon Bracy (D-Prichard)
District 100: incumbent Speaker Pro Tem Victor Gaston (R-Mobile)
District 101: incumbent Chris Pringle (R-Mobile)
District 102: Willie Gray (R-Citronelle)
District 103: incumbent Barbara Drummond (D-Mobile)
District 105: Chip Brown (R-Mobile)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

For the Alabama Supreme Court, the Business Council of Alabama endorses:
Supreme Court Chief Justice: Lyn Stuart (R)
Place 1 Associate Supreme Court Justice: Brand Mendheim (R) and Sarah Stewart (R)
Place 2 Associate Supreme Court: Justice Tommy Bryan (R)
Place 3 Associate Supreme Court Justice: Will Sellers (R)
Place 4 Associate Supreme Court Justice: Jay Mitchell (R)

For the Alabama Civil Court of Appeals, the Business Council of Alabama endorses:
Place 1 Court of Civil Appeals Judge: Christy Edwards (R)
Place 2 Court of Civil Appeals Judge: Terri Thomas (R)
Place 3 Court of Civil Appeals Judge: Terry Moore (R)

For the Alabama Criminal Court of Appeals, the Business Council of Alabama endorses:
Place 1 Court of Criminal Appeals Judge: Richard Minor (R)
Place 2 Court of Criminal Appeals Judge: Chris McCool (R)
Place 3 Court of Criminal Appeals Judge: Bill Cole (R)

For State Board of Education the Business Council of Alabama endorses
SBOE District 2: Melanie Hill (R)
SBOE District 4: Cynthia McCarty (R)
SBOE District 8: Rich McAdams (R)

BCA is still determining possible future endorsements in other races.

Brandon Moseley is a former reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter.

More from APR


The new endorsements include judicial seats on the Supreme Court and the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals.


She has served as an associate justice on the Alabama Supreme Court since she was elected as a Republican in 2018.


The Alabama House District 55 special primary election is scheduled for Tuesday, Sept. 26.

Featured Opinion

DeSantis himself has made targeting Black people, our history and culture a full-time job recently.