Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Whatley elected chairman of the Alabama State Parks Committee

Sen. Tom Whatley speaks at a committee meeting.

Sen. Tom Whatley, R-Auburn, has been elected chairman of the state Legislature’s Joint Committee on State Parks, it was announced Thursday. 

The committee was created by the state Legislature in 2000 “to study, review, and concur in the long-range capital plan for restoration of existing state park facilities and the acquisition of new state park facilities.”

“As an avid outdoorsman, I have a strong appreciation for Alabama’s land and waterways. It’s a deep honor to lead this team of legislators, as we examine ways to improve Alabama’s state parks, so that future generations of Alabamians can love the outdoors and appreciate our state’s natural beauty,” Whatley said in a press release Thursday. 

Committee members provides oversight of the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, which operates Alabama’s 21 state parks, encompassing more than 45,000 acres. 

Senator Billy Beasley (D-Clayton) commended Whatley’s leadership and ability to work well with committee members.

“I have two state parks in my district, Blue Springs State Park in Barbour County and Lakepoint Resort State Park in Eufaula, and I know how important they are to the people of Alabama,” Beasley said. “Christopher Blankenship, the Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources, is doing a very good job and I know that Sen. Tom Whatley as Chair of the Joint State Parks Committee will work well with him and the rest of the committee. Sen. Whatley has indicated to me that he wants the committee to be extremely active and I look forward to working with him to ensure our parks are maintained properly so they can continue to be a resource to our residents.” 

 State parks committee members are:

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
  • Sen. Tom Whatley, R-Auburn (Chairman)
  • Sen. Billy Beasley, D-Clayton
  • Sen. Andrew Jones, R-Centre
  • Sen. Clay Scofield, R-Guntersville
  • Sen. Chris Elliott, R-Daphne
  • Sen. Steve Livingston, R-Scottsboro
  • Rep. Lynn Greer, R-Rogersville
  • Rep. Wes Kitchens, R-Arab
  • Rep. Danny Crawford, R-Athens
  • Rep. Steve McMillan, R-Foley
Written By

The Alabama Political Reporter is a daily political news site devoted to Alabama politics. We provide accurate, reliable coverage of policy, elections and government.


Local news

John Meredith was a unanimous choice for new council president.


The Manufacture Alabama Board of Directors has elected Paul Vercher as the new chairman.


"Unfortunately, that Dream is being shackled for many Alabamians right now."


For nearly two decades, Bruser has led the Birmingham-headquartered Truckworx.