Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Municipal elections

Voters go to the polls in Tuscaloosa for municipal elections

Tuscaloosa voters go to the polls for municipal elections as incumbent Mayor Walt Maddox seeks a fifth term.


Tuscaloosa voters go to the polls to vote for mayor, school board and city council on Tuesday. Three candidates are vying for mayor of Tuscaloosa. Incumbent Mayor Walt Maddox is seeking his fifth term. He faces businessman and pastor Martin Houston and University of Alabama professor Serena Fortenberry. Maddox was the Democratic nominee for governor of Alabama in 2018.

There are contested races for six of the seven city council positions as well as two contested city school board seats in District 2 and District 3.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Voters must bring a valid photo-ID with them to the polls in order to participate in any Alabama election. Voters must vote at the polling place for the city council district in which they are registered to vote.

The polling places are:

  • District 1: the TDOT Building Auditorium at 1000 28th Ave, Tuscaloosa. Que Chandler, Katherine Waldon and Matthew Wilson are all running for the city council seat.
  • District 2: the McDonald Hughes Community Center at 3101 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Tuscaloosa. The council candidates are Raevan Howard, Boris Hurst, Paul W. Sanders Sr. and Norma Young. Deon Washington and Kendra Williams are running for the Board of Education seat.
  • District 3: the Church of the Highlands at 721 Rice Mine Road N.E., Tuscaloosa. The council candidates are Norman Crow, Matt Hood and Bill Wright. Mayci Hartley and Lesley Powell are running for the seat on the school board.
  • District 4: the Calvary Baptist Church Annex on 1208 Paul W. Bryant Drive, Tuscaloosa. Mayor is the only contested race on the ballot in District 4.
  • District 5: the Alberta Baptist Church at 2210 University Blvd. E., Tuscaloosa. Sam Badger faces Kip Tyner for the council seat.
  • District 6: the Belk Activity Center at 2101 Bowers Park Drive, Tuscaloosa. The council candidates are John Faile, Eric Gaines and Eddie Pugh.
  • District 7: the East McFarland Baptist Church at 6007 McFarland Blvd. E. The council candidates are Cassius Lanier and Sonya McKinstry.

If needed, a runoff will be held next month on April 13.

Written By

Brandon Moseley is a senior reporter with over nine years at Alabama Political Reporter. During that time he has written 8,794 articles for APR. You can email him at [email protected] or follow him on Facebook. Brandon is a native of Moody, Alabama, a graduate of Auburn University, and a seventh generation Alabamian.



Ivey also announced dates for the special election in House District 63 to fill Poole's former House seat.


The project will be a joint project for the University, the Alabama Power Company and Mercedes with state support.


She recently completed 16 years on the Tuscaloosa City Council, having served the last 4 years as council president.

Local news

The council approved the budget on an 8 to 0 vote.