Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Gov. Kay Ivey makes round of appointments

The appointments are effective immediately.

Gov. Kay Ivey

Gov. Kay Ivey announced her latest round of appointments on Friday. Ivey has appointed:

  • Steve Newton to serve on the Surface Mining Commission.
  • Helen Massey, Bobby Humphrey and Sen. Rodger Smitherman to serve on the Physical Fitness Commission.
  • Thomas Dedrick to serve on the State Hall of Fame Board.
  • Chris McGaha and Angie Cox to serve on the Interpreters and Transliterators Licensure Board.
  • Jake Harper and Rickey Cornutt to serve on the Soil and Water Conservation Committee.
  • Alvin Hope to serve on the Trust Fund Board.
  • Derrick Ragland to serve on the Credit Union Administration.
  • Violet Hamilton to serve on the Indian Affairs Commission.
  • Shalunda Allen-Sherrod to serve on the Social Work Examiners Board.
  • John Allen Nichols to serve on the to serve on the Workforce Council.
  • Thomas Cobb to serve on the Pharmacy Board.
  • Sarah Hansen to serve on the St. Stephens Historical Commission.
  • William McDowell to serve on the Youth Services Board.
  • Larry Parden to serve on the Liquified Petroleum Gas Board.
  • Steve French to serve on the Oil and Gas Board.
  • Michael Davis to serve on the Veterans Affair Board. 
  • Dr. Waymon Burke, Race Cannon, Dr. Joe Fitzgerald, Homer Hickman, Joe Newberry, Sen. Arthur Orr, Rep. Howard Sanderford, Dr. Virginia Young and David Azbell to serve on the Space Science Exhibit Commission.
  • Jimmy Rutland, Josh Johhnson, Marshall Anderson, William DeLoney, Chief Justin McKenzie, Paul Antoine, Tim Jordan, John Averett, Mark Saliba, Brad Clark, Shon Richey and Joshua Nix to serve on the Energy and Residential Code Board.
  • Shawanda Andrews, Michael Tew, Sandra Fuller, Nanda Patel, Tami Reist, Manisha Mishra and Chianti Cleggett to serve on the CTE Course of Study: Cosmetology, Education & Training and Hospitality & Training.
  • Dr. Chris Blair, Bobby Bradley, Anna Espino, Abe Harper, Bobbie Knight, Erika McKay, Nanda Patel, Dr. Douglas Ragland, Dr. Del Smith, Col. Charles Ward and Sec. Fitzgerald Washington to serve on the Minority Affairs Advisory Board.
  • Dr. William Godbey to serve on the Baldwin Co. Board of Registrars.
  • Janice Seip, Deborah Hoover, Tochie Lofton and Clint Witherington to serve on the Board of Nursing.
  • Dr. Henry Panion III, Julie Friedman, Ceil Snow, Kim Mitchell and Dr. Ramona Hyman to serve on the State Council on the Arts.
  • Dr. William Curry, Dr. Arthur Steineker and Dr. Michelle Dandridge to serve on the Joint Committee to study dental feasibility in rural areas.
  • Darrell Ingram to the Talladega County Commission.
  • Barbara Temple to serve on the Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust Fund Board.
  • Dr. William Godbey to serve on the Baldwin County Board of Registrars.
  • Cerita Smith, Betsy Echols and Randy McKinney to serve on the Real Estate Commission.
  • Vernetta Perkins as Dallas County District Judge.

These appointments are effective immediately.

Jacob Holmes is a reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter. You can reach him at [email protected]

More from APR


Using American Rescue Plan funds, the new grant should make it cheaper to build last-mile connections in 25 counties.


Gov. Kay Ivey announced the appointment of 20 individuals to various state positions.


Gov. Kay Ivey announced 31 new appointments to various political seats and boards.

Featured Opinion

While we remain critical of laws that hinder progress, let’s also recognize these significant strides forward.