Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Qualifying closes for 2018 Alabama Congressional races


By Brandon Moseley
Alabama Political Reporter

Major party qualifying for the 2018 elections is finished, and Alabamians have a number of choices.

All seven Alabama Congressional incumbents have qualified for another term. There is no U.S. Senate race this year. Democrat Senator Doug Jones faces re-election in 2020. Alabama’s senior Senator Richard Shelby faces the voters next in 2022.

In the 7th Congressional District, incumbent Terri Sewell does not have a major party opponent.

In Congressional District 1, incumbent Bradley Byrne, R-Montrose, is seeking another term in the House of Representatives. Byrne does not have a primary opponent. Byrne, however, does have a Democratic challenger. Lizzetta Hill McConnell and Robert Kennedy Jr.  are running in the Democratic primary.

While Byrne’s focus is on winning this race, he has announced that he is considering a run against Doug Jones in 2020.

In Congressional District 2, incumbent Martha Roby, R-Montgomery, is seeking her fourth term. Roby faces four qualified opponents at this point: state Representative Barry Moore, R-Enterprise, longtime Judge Roy Moore aide Rich Hobson, retired Army Sergeant Major Tommy Amason and former Democratic Congressman Bobby Bright in the GOP primary.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The winner of the Republican primary will face the Democratic Party primary winner, where Tabitha Isner faces Audri Scott Williams.

In Congressional District 3, incumbent Mike Roger, R-Saks, is seeking his ninth term in the U.S. House of Representatives. He does not have a qualified Republican primary opponent. Former Miss America Mallory Hagan faces Adia McClellan Winfrey in the Democratic primary.

In the 4th Congressional District, incumbent Robert Aderholt, R-Haleyville, is seeking his 12th term in Congress.  Aderholt faces a Republican challenge from Anthony Blackmon. Lee Auman is running against Rick Neighbors in the Democratic primary.

In the Fifth Congressional District, incumbent Mo Brooks, R-Huntsville, is seeking his fifth term in the U.S. House of Representatives. He faces a primary challenger in veteran and businessman Clayton Hinchman. The winner of the Republican primary will face Peter Joffrion in the general election.

In the Sixth Congressional District, incumbent Gary Palmer, R-Huntsville, is seeking his third term in Congress.  Palmer has no Republican primary opponent. Danner Kline qualified as a Democrat.

Democrats are hopeful that they can take back control of the U.S. House of Representatives from the Republicans in the 2018 election. Historically, the party that wins the presidency suffers setbacks two years later in the congressional midterms.

Brandon Moseley is a former reporter at the Alabama Political Reporter.

More from APR


Three members of Alabama’s delegation signed onto a letter asking the Department of Justice about noncitizen voting.

Featured Opinion

The new Republican platform tells every American what to expect from a second Trump term: four more years of government-by-tweet.


The Supreme Court's ruling that presidents cannot be prosecuted for any official acts received seemingly unanimous support from Alabama Republicans.


The debate has stirred concerns about President Joe Biden's cognitive decline, while Donald Trump remained confident and coherent as he lied repeatedly on stage.