Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Republican runoff Tuesday in House District 49

Republican voters in House District 49 head to the polls Tuesday to nominate their next representative. Miriam “Mimi” Penhale faces Russell Bedsole in the special Republican primary runoff.

During the special Republican primary, the election was very tight between the two. Penhale received 829 votes, or 31.4 percent of the votes cast, and Bedsole received 919 votes, or 34.8 percent.

The rest of the votes were split among the other four candidates. Since neither got 50 percent plus one vote, the runoff was necessary between the top two primary finishers. Voter turnout during the primary was just 8.88 percent and is likely to be similarly low Tuesday.

Bedsole serves on the Alabaster City Council and is a captain in the Shelby County Sheriff’s Department. Penhale is the director of the Shelby County Legislative office.

The eventual winner of the Republican nomination will face Democratic candidate Cheryl Patton in the special general election on Tuesday, Nov. 17.

The vacancy in House District 49 was created when State Rep. April Weaver, R-Briarfield, announced her resignation to accept an appointment as a regional director of the Department of Health and Human Services.

House District 49 consists of portions of Bibb, Shelby and Chilton Counties. The winner will serve the remainder of Weaver’s term, which ends in late 2022.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Voters must bring a valid photo ID and vote at the polling place that they are assigned.

Written By

Brandon Moseley is a senior reporter with over nine years at Alabama Political Reporter. During that time he has written 8,794 articles for APR. You can email him at [email protected] or follow him on Facebook. Brandon is a native of Moody, Alabama, a graduate of Auburn University, and a seventh generation Alabamian.



The Alabama Forestry Association announced last week that it has endorsed Steve Marshall for a second full term.


Rigsby is running for the seat currently held by Speaker Mac McCutcheon, who is not seeking re-election.


West said she is "strongly against the teaching of Critical Race Theory in our K-12 classrooms."


FreedomWorks for America announced that they have endorsed Brooks in Alabama’s U.S. Senate race.